Classic Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This is all American comfort food from the 50's that my Mom use to make.......except for the garlic, which she did not like but l love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
followed the recipe exactly - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My husband"s Mom called this Chop Suey my Mom called it Goulash either way we were both thrilled to have it again.It has been so long since I made it I was happy to add it to my menu week.It was very good and made enough for leftovers.It is just the two of us so I love the way you can change the servings back and forth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This was really good, we served with cheese and bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I absolutely love goulash and this recipe is great! I especially love cooking it in the crock pot. Usually takes longer than an hour for me, though. LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was decent, but missing something, as other reviewers said. I added more macaroni than the recipe called for, but it was still soupier than I expected. This made a TON of food. I will maybe play with the spices for my leftovers, as my family of three may be having this for DAYS. Not sure I would make this again otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Thought it would be too soupy so added 3/4 c. more pasta. Also added 2 level T sugar. Took twice as long to cook in slow cooker as is shown in recipe. In future, will use heavier bigger pasta. With these changes it was perfect and very good. Could serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I made this last night and it made a lot!! It was just OK with my family, I will add a little Chile Pepper if I make it again. I just can't figure out what else it needs. I would leave out the seasoning salt, maybe a little too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
First of all great recipe the only 2 things I did to make it like my moms was added chopped green bell peppers and used Worcestershire sauce instead of Soy sauce. Now for those of you who are not familiar with this, it is an American Goulash dish....if you are looking for a Hungarian, Mexican or Cuban Goulash then search for it by those names and you will find some. This Goulash is what I grew up with some 40 years ago up north, you can not compare this to the others, they are all made different. That would be like me saying a Coney Island Hot Dog is the same as a Chicago Dog...wrong. Again great recipe...thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harleysg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Love this American style goulash! I did make a few changes though - I just thought soy sauce was out of place in this recipe, so I substituted Worcestershire sauce. I also added diced bell pepper and left out the bay leaves, but added basil. I also never add salt to a dish that has other ingredients that contain sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States