Classic Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Doubled recipe (always do), made the noodles separate (so eliminated water) because I didn't want the noodles to soak up all the tomatoes. Quadrupled spices and added way more of my "own Italian spice mixture" (just because we LOVE spice and fresh garlic), but for some reason there still WAS NOT enough spice!!! Also added fresh largely chopped red, yellow, orange and green pepper with the onions as beef was cooking AND more sauce, crushed tomatoes and stewed tomatoes since more veggies were added (we like our food wet not dry). Added fresh sliced mushrooms shortly before dish was done (so they didn't get overcooked). Had to add Parmesean cheese to each serving for more flavor!! This made a lot and was just OK in my book. My family ate it (we DON'T WASTE FOOD!) but they were not THRILLED! I still cannot figure out why it tasted SO blan (even after I added so much spice!) I let it simmer without the noodles for a few hours to incorporate the flavor as well (and it still was blan the next day). Don't think I would make this again unless I added something else for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I added more liquid to the recipe and it was perfect! My family raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Perfect. The only thing I do is add a can of corn. That is how I had it growing up. This is in our regular rotation and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
The whole family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I have made this recipe several times since I first saw it. I believe my mom made something similar (I'm 71 yo so it's hard to remember!). Since I was making it for only two of us, I used the same ingredients except I used only 1 lb. of ground beef and and adjusted the other ingredients accordingly. I added chopped green pepper, and used worchestershire sauce instead of soy sauce. It made a lot so I froze some for future eating. My husband really liked it and I liked it as well. Very easy dish to make. Good on the budget too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Made this exactly as recipe follows. Too much italian seasoning for my taste. The goulash my mom makes is very tomatoey which is how I prefer it. Next time I would season it differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Read no further... I spent a crazy amount of time reading many many many comments on this recipe and made alterations based on comments.... Alterations: I tried this in the crockpot on low for about 3 hrs After browning the meat w/ onions, etc.. I used a jar of spaghetti sauce in place of tomato sauce Instead of all the soy sauce I did 2TBS SOY & 2TBS Worcestershire sauce Added LOTS of basil and a little less Italian seasonings Beef broth instead of water About a cup of shredded zucchini I had in the freezer (just for fun, not because of suggestions or anything) I recommend cooking noodles separately and adding them at the end. They got mushy in the crockpot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Made this tonight and it was delicious, I added green pepper but wouldn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melicans
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is the best goulash recipe I have ever made! This reminds me of the goulash my mother used to make when I was a kid. I stuck to the recipe, but did add 1 c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Qtewashington
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
My mother in law makes this all the time and my husband loves it so I decided to make my own! I did add green peppers and decided to split the recipes into 2 pots one regular and one spicy. To the spicy one I added 1 1/2 tablespoons of webers n'orleans Cajun seasoning and it turned out perfect. Yummy on these cold nights we've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qtewashington

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States