Classic Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This recipe is a classic midwest version (base) recipe of goulash. I grew up on the Iowa/Illinois border and this is how my entire family makes it - but we season to taste. We use worchestsire sauce instead of soy but either one would either way. Considering this is a base recipe you can add whatever veggies you want! My aunt usually tosses in a can of corn and I add a beef boullion cube for a little extra flavor. Also, I boil my noodles separate and them toss them in sauce. This recipe is a great winter comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
So delicious! My family really enjoyed this! Didn't use any of the salty stuff like soy or season salt (we have health issues with that). I didn't have enough tomato sauce so I subbed in a jar of chili sauce and it was just fine! I also added some green pepper and used ground turkey. It's now in my recipe file. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LABRESCUER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Excellent! Everyone likes to put their own spin on their dish...here's mine. Pre cook your pasta and omit the water. Where pasta is concerned...have fun and use different shapes and sizes. I like wortchestershire sauce but it can be an overpowering taste, I used only 1tsp. I also chopped up red and yellow peppers and a jalapeno pepper. Maybe two jalapeno's for some heat as I found one didn't add any heat at all. Serve with crusty rolls. Easy, fast and the home crew loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
We love this meal, especially my 6 year old! She asks for it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILANNE99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Pretty good foundation recipe, but it took some doctoring to get it the way I wanted. As some of the reviewers have stated, it ended up rather soupy so I mixed in a can of tomato paste after the noodles were tender. It also was a bit bland so 2nd time around I used one large can (28 oz) stewed tomatoes instead of the diced, swapped out the soy for worcestershire, and added some black pepper... now I have a recipe I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Made this the other night, came out super thick, but I also used the whole bag of noodles and not just what it called for. Will make it again but I would like it to have a more tomato taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I love this comforting one pot recipe! There's lots of room for variations, but I make it pretty much true to the recipe shown. Except I replace about half of the water with beef broth. It's even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I haven't had goulash in years, and I don't remember it ever being this good. I added a green bell pepper and used spaghetti sauce (because it was open) instead of plain tomato sauce - but other than that stuck to the recipe. Great flavor - my husband and I couldn't stop eating it and are looking forward to the leftovers! Thanks so much for posting - this is going in with the "keepers"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
We (my family of 5) all loved this! I made it in a cast iron dutch oven and it was excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I used the slow cooker version, left out the bay leaves and soy sauce but kept faithful to everything else and I LOVE IT! It reminds me of the goulash my mother used to make - but better. Maybe a little less garlic next time ...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States