Classic Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by LoresWisconsin
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
After reading many of the reviews, I tweaked this recipe and it turned out D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S!!! I browned 2 pounds lean hamburger with 2 chopped yellow onions, 2 stalks of celery, 2 cloves of garlic. Since this is a goulash (you add what you have) I added about 2 Tablespoons of tomato paste (had it in the freezer from another recipe), 2 Tablespoons of bouillon, about 1/2 cup of green and red bell pepper (also had in freezer). When meat is browned and veggies are tender, add 1 small can of tomato sauce, 1 can of stewed tomatoes (I had a pint of home canned Italian salsa, and 1 can of petite diced tomatoes. I also added about 2 Tablespoons Worcestershire, and yellow prepared mustard. I boiled rotini pasta until el dante and added it to the hot mixture. I then added some homegrown sweet corn and mixed it all together. YUM YUM! Thanks to everyone for all the tips and especially to Pathunt for the original recipe. This only took about 35 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I haven't been to the store in weeks, but had a pound of ground beef in the freezer and pantry items, this fit the bill perfectly! Nice, warm lunch we both enjoyed. I halved the recipe and followed exactly using Tony Cacchere's seasoning, simple & delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe, pathunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
It is very hard for me to find a dish my teens, and my husband and I like, but this goulash was the one. We have enjoyed it so much! I also love the fact that it's not just a winter meal. Thank you very much for making my whole family happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This was "ok". I used different noodles because I just don't care for the elbow macaroni. I omitted the soy sauce because even the low sodium soy sauce has quite a bit of sodium in it. I would probably make again but would make some variations to see if I could make it a little more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This review is based on my DH & DS comments as I don’t care for goulash. “This is awesome” “This is really good, you can make this one again?” “Will you put this recipe in my recipe box?” “Is this hard to make ‘cause you’ve not made this before”. Ok, do you get the picture? My guys loved this recipe. I made it as written only using venison in place of the hamburger. This recipe makes quite a bit. I served for dinner, had leftovers for lunch, froze a casserole dish for my in-laws to reheat and have a container in the freezer for my guys to each have a serving for dinner one night. Their eyes and their taste buds both give this a 5-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Added bell peppers, used lots of onions, used Braggs instead of soy sauce. My family loves it. Great make ahead And take camping or serve large gathering. I cook noodles separately reg and gluten free and add at last minute....but I don't l Ike reheated noodle dishes because the noodles keep cooking and get mushy...especially gluten free. Also I top with shredded cheese, sour cream and diced onions like I would a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Cut recipe in half, but used 1.5 cups noodles instead of just 1. Glad I did, or it would have been too soupy for us. Added a couple dashes of Worcestershire and tobacco. Great classic comfort recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is so delicious and simple and...classic as the title says! The only thing I did differently is use Worcestershire sauce instead of soy sauce, added red pepper flakes (b/c I love spicy food), and added in some garlic powder. I made this on a whim for dinner (I was missing comfort foods from growing up in Iowa) and the whole family chowed it down. I made 1/2 the recipe but wish I would have made the whole thing so that we would have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdcyclone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This recipe was just so so. I made as written and was not impressed. Next time i'll add some corn and green bell peppers and cut down the italian seasoning and do 2 bay leaves, it was overwhelming. Its a good foundation for goulash but needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Personally, I think three bay leaves is a bit much. One medium to large one is plenty, at least for us. Otherwise, this dish is as I remember it from my childhood: good if not delicious, hot, and filling. Also pretty dang cheap. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States