Classic Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Loved this recipe. I added green peppers to mine and forgot to add the soy sauce (was actually planning on doing 1/2 soy and 1/2 Worcester). Even without the soy sauce though it was very delicious. I really liked how much it made for such a little cost. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Everyone loved it! It's great that this recipe uses ingredients typically on hand in the pantry too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Muy muy bueno. Two bowls full
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Beeching

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
It was okay, I added mushrooms and green peppers..If I make it again I would put less Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILDALSO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I did not add any salt or soy, instead I used Worcestershire and I omitted all of the spices until it was done, then I added a little salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morrilton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Made this last night for the family and it turned out great! I followed some of the reviewers and added diced green pepper and diced carrots along with the onions. My picky son went back for THIRDS! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Strathmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
We enjoyed this! My husband said he liked it even better the next day for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
People need to understand that things like a clove of garlic, or a bay leaf vary in sizes naturally. Therefore when a recipe calls for such, one should era on the side of caution. You can add more later. You can taste the dish and adjust other flavorings to. When someone says a recipe is bland, it's your own fault, not the recipe's. Since everyone's taste is different, taste and adjust to your own. I halved the recipe and like others used Worcestershire instead of soy. I always have chopped bell peppers in the freezer so I threw in a handful of green bell pepper with the onions. I didn't have tomato sauce so I used tomato paste and a cup of water. I didn't add additional water because I wanted a thick sauce. I ended up adding a tad near the end. I only put one bay leaf in since I halved the recipe and that was enough. It turned out great. Not my mom's but just as good. Don't tell her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I have been eating this since I was a child, and Mom usually called it chop suey. She was from New England. I also hear it called goulash and hamburger soup. I generally use a lower fat content ground beef, and don't drain it, as the fat adds flavor, and I don't lose the other liquids created while browning the meat. I have also used ground turkey, but the flavor is not the same, even when adding beef soup base. When I want more than just the basic soup. I also will add bell peppers, preferably the red and yellow ones, as some in my family find green ones have too strong a flavor. I will also add mushrooms and/or a can of small black olives. I will serve this with a loaf of Italian bread, and I like it with shredded parmesan cheese. I generally will make a big pot and eat it for a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenneth Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Goulash Supreme

Macaroni simmers with ground beef and onions in a spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States