Classic Gingerbread Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
fast and EASY. I was looking for cookies to hang on the tree. Since taste wasnt priority for me I used margarine, also used my kitchenaid mixer to stir in all of the flour (was also in a hurry, didnt sift flour, just scooped it) dough was perfect for rolling right out of the bowl. fresh from oven cookies were firm enough to handle yet soft enough for me to "re open" the ribbon holes I'd made with a wooden skewer. I got 18 of the 5" gingerbread men. Will use this recipe again-Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
These cookies were so easy to make. I laughed when I saw it only took an hour to make them but I was cleaned up and finished an hour after I started them. They were easy to mix and the easiest cookies I have ever rolled and cut. My three year old helped me and we didn't even have any fall apart. I only gave 4 stars though because as far as flavor they are not spectacular. I am thinking some orange zest and more spice would jazz them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Geraldine yang
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
i made this last christmas, it was easy to make but it did not have enough spices in it so when i made them the second time i doubled up on the spices, and ginger, ok i didn't just double i added a hell lot more, and i couldn't get molasses so i used a mixture of treacle and maple syrup. the cookie came out great everyone loved it and and the icing once again was easy to make and worked well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geraldine yang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NorrisM
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I made these cookies for Christmas this year. I found that rolling the dough 1/4" instead of 1/8" made the cookies softer and more fun to decorate. My daughter decorated the cookies, putting two together with an "I Love Mom & Dad" theme (as seen in the photo). I am not the best baker, an have minimal experience with rolling dough, but I learned three things from making this batch of cookies. 1. Put more than a thin layer of flour on the board before rolling the dough. My first attempt had the dough sticking to the board because I used a light dusting of flour. 2. Brush off the flour from the bottom of the cookies before eating them. They taste MUCH better that way. 3. I used the Reynolds Parchment Paper on the cookie sheet for the first time. I really like the results that I had. The cookies didn't stick to the sheet and it didn't allow over cooking the bottom of the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Less taste of molasses and too much clove. Cookies turned out hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUREGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockwell, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wolcott, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I doubled this recipe and took it to school to make with kindergarten and grade 6. Tasty but not overpowering, chewy and not hard. Perfect for the kind og cookie I have always looked and hadn't found until now. I will use this every year from now on. Thanks a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Best gingerbread Ive ever made! It wasnt too dry or hard, and it made perfect little men for decorating. I did add about half a tsp more ginger powder, but everything else was perrrfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
These cookies taste delicious! They're not too sweet and the icing is the perfect touch. I added about 10 drops of food coloring to the royal icing to make different color variations. Then, placed the different colors into plastic baggies. Pushed the icing into one of the corners of the bag and snipped a VERY small hole. This created a cheap piping bag to paint my cookies. They turned out great. My daughter enjoyed helping decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Really good other than the dough being a little dry and hard to work with at first. By the time it had been rolled out a few times, it was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This was a great recipe, but I have some tips for others wanting to make the recipe. The taste, I thought, was great but you could add more spices if you want to. (Just look at other gingerbread recipes to find out an average) Also, some people were complaining about the crunchiness of the cookies. I noticed that too, but then I stopped rolling the dough so thin and they came out nice, gingery and somewhat soft and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States