Classic Gingerbread Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Absoluetly the bomb! I used a version of this to make a gingerbread house for the first time and it turned out spectacular. It made enough dough for the house, plus plenty of men and regular round cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Great recipe! I made gingerbread men as well as my first gingerbread house with this recipe,and both turned out great! You do have to be careful with the flour,as it can make them kind of dry,but that was my fault,and they were still good. The icing recipe is incredible,tastes great,and stuck my gingerbread house together no problem! I was very nervous about doing the house,but this recipe made it a breeze,thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These were the best cookies. The were so easy to roll and cut. The only thing I changed was 5 cups of flour not 4 cups. Also I used baking powder not baking soda. THEY WERE GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These were a disappointment for me. They came out really hard bakes at 8-10 minutes..I changed it to 6 minutes. They were also really tasteless..like cardboard. Will not make them again. Not the nice rich flavor that I am used to with gingerbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
The dough was very sticky and I had to put a ton of flour on the board to be able to get the cut-outs off and to even be able to roll it out. I think that you should add more flour to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I followed the exact recipe. I will NOT bake these again. I had to add more more flour than the recipe calls for and had to ensure enough flour on rolling surface as dough tended to get stuck. The end result was bland and tasteless. I have put them in an airtight container and will wait a couple of days to see if they taste better. Maybe icing sugar will asisst the taste somewhat hopefully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Loved this recipe! I just tried another posted here that turned out awful and needed chilling and fell to pieces when I rolled. So I gave this one a try. Didn't sift the flour, just dumped it in. And only other change was that I used nutmeg instead of ginger. Will use this recipe over and over again!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
fast and EASY. I was looking for cookies to hang on the tree. Since taste wasnt priority for me I used margarine, also used my kitchenaid mixer to stir in all of the flour (was also in a hurry, didnt sift flour, just scooped it) dough was perfect for rolling right out of the bowl. fresh from oven cookies were firm enough to handle yet soft enough for me to "re open" the ribbon holes I'd made with a wooden skewer. I got 18 of the 5" gingerbread men. Will use this recipe again-Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
These cookies were so easy to make. I laughed when I saw it only took an hour to make them but I was cleaned up and finished an hour after I started them. They were easy to mix and the easiest cookies I have ever rolled and cut. My three year old helped me and we didn't even have any fall apart. I only gave 4 stars though because as far as flavor they are not spectacular. I am thinking some orange zest and more spice would jazz them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Geraldine yang
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
i made this last christmas, it was easy to make but it did not have enough spices in it so when i made them the second time i doubled up on the spices, and ginger, ok i didn't just double i added a hell lot more, and i couldn't get molasses so i used a mixture of treacle and maple syrup. the cookie came out great everyone loved it and and the icing once again was easy to make and worked well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geraldine yang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States