Classic Gingerbread Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
These were good, moderately soft, gingerbread cookies that went over very well with our family, young and old. I rolled them a little thicker, as I like a softer cookie. I would probably use powdered sugar for the rolling next time, to make a slightly sweeter cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
First I would like to say that I really do not bake, that is more for my mom as I prefer cooking. This is the first time I have ever made gingerbread cookies and I searched everywhere to find a recipe that I assumed would be good. I chose this one, but followed the advice of many others on here by making small changes to suit my own taste. I cut the molasses down to 1/3 cup and used 1 tsp of the spices and added 1 tsp of nutmeg. I have never made icing in my life before and was a bit worried that I would do something wrong, but it turned out perfect. I let the dough stay in the fridge overnight as I did not have time to actually make, decoarte and clean once the dough was made, and it was so easy to work with. I cooked the cookies for the full 8 min(I used small cookie cutters too), and the cookies came out perfect. I was worried about the cookies after making the dough because the molasses gave off a pungent smell that was distastefull to me. My dad said they were great and the only dessert/treat he likes are chocolate chip cookies. They are soft too which is a plus but they are not 'cakey'. Overall it was an A+ in mine and my familys book and we will definantly be making again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This one didn't go so well for me. The dough was not easy to handle and even though I increased the amount of spices by a considerable amount they still weren't that gingery. The overall texture after cooking was good though but we wont use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I made a gingerbread house with a metal mold. This recipe's dough was rather sticky and prone to air bubbles. Not great properties for a molded cookie, but in the end it worked out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
It tasted really good but I ended up baking it for only 6 minutes. The dough made lots of gingerbread men. I didn't have cloves but they still tasted really ginger-bready
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIRGOVICKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Unfortunately, I had no luck with this recipe. It smells like gingerbread but doesn't taste like gingerbread at all! I suppose the amounts of spices need some adjustment. However, I do enjoy the rather cakey texture of the gingerbread cookies, but not the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These made a soft, chewy gingerbread cookie, it balances out the hard royal icing used to decorate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmwth4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wilco
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This made a beautiful gingerbread house! I used the template on this website and did the recipe exactly as it says to here. It made a gingerbread house and quite a few large gingerbread people. This was so easy and looks pretty. :) A note though: the frosting recipe is a good one, but it must be used fresh. If you're making your house over several days time, then just make enough of the frosting for that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Made a double batch to create my very first gingerbread house, a Hallowe'en themed one from scratch. Was pretty painless except when my roof wouldn't stay up but a little rearranging and viola, a scary edible centrepiece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Makes a great gingerbread house even if I am not a big fan of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States