Classic Gingerbread Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by wilco
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This made a beautiful gingerbread house! I used the template on this website and did the recipe exactly as it says to here. It made a gingerbread house and quite a few large gingerbread people. This was so easy and looks pretty. :) A note though: the frosting recipe is a good one, but it must be used fresh. If you're making your house over several days time, then just make enough of the frosting for that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Made a double batch to create my very first gingerbread house, a Hallowe'en themed one from scratch. Was pretty painless except when my roof wouldn't stay up but a little rearranging and viola, a scary edible centrepiece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Makes a great gingerbread house even if I am not a big fan of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Absoluetly the bomb! I used a version of this to make a gingerbread house for the first time and it turned out spectacular. It made enough dough for the house, plus plenty of men and regular round cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Great recipe! I made gingerbread men as well as my first gingerbread house with this recipe,and both turned out great! You do have to be careful with the flour,as it can make them kind of dry,but that was my fault,and they were still good. The icing recipe is incredible,tastes great,and stuck my gingerbread house together no problem! I was very nervous about doing the house,but this recipe made it a breeze,thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These were the best cookies. The were so easy to roll and cut. The only thing I changed was 5 cups of flour not 4 cups. Also I used baking powder not baking soda. THEY WERE GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
These were a disappointment for me. They came out really hard bakes at 8-10 minutes..I changed it to 6 minutes. They were also really tasteless..like cardboard. Will not make them again. Not the nice rich flavor that I am used to with gingerbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
The dough was very sticky and I had to put a ton of flour on the board to be able to get the cut-outs off and to even be able to roll it out. I think that you should add more flour to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I followed the exact recipe. I will NOT bake these again. I had to add more more flour than the recipe calls for and had to ensure enough flour on rolling surface as dough tended to get stuck. The end result was bland and tasteless. I have put them in an airtight container and will wait a couple of days to see if they taste better. Maybe icing sugar will asisst the taste somewhat hopefully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Loved this recipe! I just tried another posted here that turned out awful and needed chilling and fell to pieces when I rolled. So I gave this one a try. Didn't sift the flour, just dumped it in. And only other change was that I used nutmeg instead of ginger. Will use this recipe over and over again!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States