Classic Gingerbread Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Good recipe, rolled out well and didn't stick. I doubled the spices as was suggested. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I've made this a few Christmases now and each time I have to hide the cookies when they're done or else I won't get any. This comes off a soft, cake like cookie, especially if you roll it thick enough. I highly recommend using the parchment trick (rolling out your dough between two pieces of parchment). I found that if I did that, I could easily get the dough cut, put on a cookie sheet, baked, and transferred off without any issues. The only problem I have had is around Christmas time I get never ending questions from my wife, friends, and co-workers about when gingerbread time starts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This is a great recipe! I actually needed a bit more flour, but the consistency of the dough was beautiful. I used the template on the site for the house, and prematurely did a few cut outs and was left using scraps for the roof. But I was able to make it work. Over all, its easy and very tasty! Even for non-molasses likers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I picked this recipe because it looked fairly simple, and it called for butter instead of shortening. Overall, not bad at all. I would, however, recommend at least doubling the spices. I doubled them, but next time I make gingerbread cookies, I will probably add a bit more. I also recommend letting the dough 'rest' in the refrigerator for a bit before rolling out to cookies. Baked up nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Really enjoyed this gingerbread....did not have any difficulty rolling it out, did not stick to the rolling pin or the table. Made very nice gingerbread men :) I added a little more cinnamon/ginger and did not have allspice so I used a 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg to round out the ginger/cinnamon/cloves. All in all a very nice gingerbread. I will probably use it next year for a whole gingerbread house. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very yummy! The dough is really great, it's just like playdough, so easy to use! I made a gingerbread house with this, and still be making regular cookies too (lots of dough left!). I found they're better rolled to about 1/4 inch thick rather than 1/8, that way they turn out soft. These things smell SOOOO good! I didn't have allspice or cloves unfortunately, but even without it they taste grand, I'm sure they'd be even better with all the spices! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Extra Foamy
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Fabulous recipe! I used this to create my first homemade gingerbread house (usually just make one from a box!). I was absolutely amazed at how soft and supple the dough was (so easy to roll out it's ridiculous). Worked out great and the smell is divine. Great recipe! If I ever make another one of these, this is the recipe I'll use. I also love the rich, dark color of this gingerbread. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
my first time making gingerbread cutouts and I was not disapointed with this recipe. The main reason I chose it was because the dough did not require refridgeration. Came together easy, rolled beautifully. I kept a careful eye not to over cook the boys...absolutely key in producing soft cookies. Made icing with icing sugar, milk and vanilla mixed to the right consistency. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is a great recipe. I added more spice. 2 1/2 tsp ginger, 2 tsp cloves, 2 tsp cinnamon and i also added nutmeg for that extra kick. They are awesome. Soft and delicious. I will definatly be using this recipe for my gingerbread house. Oh and just so u know, use Fancy Molasses for gingerbread. I didn't know that there are 5 types of molasses. I used cooking molasses for my first recipe and they turned out really dark and tasted too licorishy. Although cooking molasses is a mixture of fancy and blackstrap its way to strong for gingerbread, but great for ginger snaps. Hope this helps. I used the royal icing recipe , it turned out great. Ofcourse i added color to some and made them extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
not really the best recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States