Classic Gingerbread Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Good recipe, rolled out well and didn't stick. I doubled the spices as was suggested. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I've made this a few Christmases now and each time I have to hide the cookies when they're done or else I won't get any. This comes off a soft, cake like cookie, especially if you roll it thick enough. I highly recommend using the parchment trick (rolling out your dough between two pieces of parchment). I found that if I did that, I could easily get the dough cut, put on a cookie sheet, baked, and transferred off without any issues. The only problem I have had is around Christmas time I get never ending questions from my wife, friends, and co-workers about when gingerbread time starts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This is a great recipe! I actually needed a bit more flour, but the consistency of the dough was beautiful. I used the template on the site for the house, and prematurely did a few cut outs and was left using scraps for the roof. But I was able to make it work. Over all, its easy and very tasty! Even for non-molasses likers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I picked this recipe because it looked fairly simple, and it called for butter instead of shortening. Overall, not bad at all. I would, however, recommend at least doubling the spices. I doubled them, but next time I make gingerbread cookies, I will probably add a bit more. I also recommend letting the dough 'rest' in the refrigerator for a bit before rolling out to cookies. Baked up nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Really enjoyed this gingerbread....did not have any difficulty rolling it out, did not stick to the rolling pin or the table. Made very nice gingerbread men :) I added a little more cinnamon/ginger and did not have allspice so I used a 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg to round out the ginger/cinnamon/cloves. All in all a very nice gingerbread. I will probably use it next year for a whole gingerbread house. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very yummy! The dough is really great, it's just like playdough, so easy to use! I made a gingerbread house with this, and still be making regular cookies too (lots of dough left!). I found they're better rolled to about 1/4 inch thick rather than 1/8, that way they turn out soft. These things smell SOOOO good! I didn't have allspice or cloves unfortunately, but even without it they taste grand, I'm sure they'd be even better with all the spices! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Extra Foamy
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Fabulous recipe! I used this to create my first homemade gingerbread house (usually just make one from a box!). I was absolutely amazed at how soft and supple the dough was (so easy to roll out it's ridiculous). Worked out great and the smell is divine. Great recipe! If I ever make another one of these, this is the recipe I'll use. I also love the rich, dark color of this gingerbread. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
my first time making gingerbread cutouts and I was not disapointed with this recipe. The main reason I chose it was because the dough did not require refridgeration. Came together easy, rolled beautifully. I kept a careful eye not to over cook the boys...absolutely key in producing soft cookies. Made icing with icing sugar, milk and vanilla mixed to the right consistency. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is a great recipe. I added more spice. 2 1/2 tsp ginger, 2 tsp cloves, 2 tsp cinnamon and i also added nutmeg for that extra kick. They are awesome. Soft and delicious. I will definatly be using this recipe for my gingerbread house. Oh and just so u know, use Fancy Molasses for gingerbread. I didn't know that there are 5 types of molasses. I used cooking molasses for my first recipe and they turned out really dark and tasted too licorishy. Although cooking molasses is a mixture of fancy and blackstrap its way to strong for gingerbread, but great for ginger snaps. Hope this helps. I used the royal icing recipe , it turned out great. Ofcourse i added color to some and made them extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
not really the best recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States