Classic Gingerbread Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by foodelicious
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This made an incredibly fragrant Halloween gingerbread house. I let the larger pieces bake a little longer, then let them sit in a 200 degree oven until they felt very firm. This was my first gingerbread house from scratch and I'm very happy with the results. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Kaley_Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Besides the spices being doubled, this is the same recipe I use for my 'reduced fat' gingersnaps. The dough really needs to remain refridgerated or it's going to stick. Instead of rolling it out on a floured surface I rolled the dough between some folded wax paper. They were nummy nummy! I found they have more flavor when soft, rather than crisp. Thanks! I'll for sure use this low fat recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I rolled a little thicker for supporting the ginger bread house and it was great. Had a nice spicy flavor... until I put it back int he oven for safe keeping then the oven got pre heated...red hots dripping down the gingerbread house looked like blood. I cut little squares in the house cut outs and crushed up peppermint candy canes and put them in the holes. When everything was done cooking I had wonderful stained glass windows. I highly reccommend that small detail to any gingerbread house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trishie
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This recipe was perfect for building gingerbread houses!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trishie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was my first attempt at making my own gingerbread house from scratch. I doubled the spices and it was delicious. I made it pretty thick and cooked it almost twice as long (it was almost 1/2" thick when done) so it wouldn't be too soft. The royal frosting was perfect. All my worries about how it would set up were for naught -the house stood perfectly with just the frosting and set-up nicely. Using the icing in a zip-lock bag with the corner cut was a breeze - so much fun! My 5 and 7-year-old and 5-year-old friend had a blast putting candy all over it and have since had more fun eating it. I can hardly wait until next year to make it again! (I also can't wait to get over this cold so I can taste again - this was really yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
very easy and no need to refrigerate first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Loved this recipe. Easy and quick to make, and very quick to bake - and it made TONS of cookies. The only problem I had was at the point at which I added the eggs and molasses to the creamed sugar/butter - it caused the butter/sugar mixture to separate horribly, which wasn't ideal. However, as soon as the flour went in it wasn't a problem any longer. The dough was wonderful to work with. I can only imagine those who say it was too dry or too sticky have never made dough before - adding the flour is an art, not an exact science! ;) You have to stop adding flour when you get the right texture! (Doesn't every cook know this?) I also doubled the amount of spice, and I'm glad I did. The gingerbread is tasty without being overbearing - I can't imagine how bland they might have been with half as much spice. Will definitely be using this recipe again. Thanks to the author - love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Absolutely love this recipe. It is a must have each holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is ... a bad recipe to say the very least. Too much flour .. I couldn't even get the thing to roll out and get one cookie ...sad ... *sigh*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
3 stars for flavor because it is fairly bland for gingerbread. 5 stars for simplicity - it was great to not have to chill it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States