Classic Gingerbread Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This made great gingerbread houses!!! I made them for my annual Auntie Claus weekend and the kids had a blast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOSWALT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Craig, Missouri, USA
Living In: Burr, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2000kitties

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
this recipe is really easy to follow so that's what makes it great. i found that rolling the dough thicker made the cookies chewy and not that crunchy. one thing i don't like about this is that the amount of spices used is definitely not enough. the cookies smell great but the taste is rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Like several of the other reviewers, I rolled the dough out a bit thicker (about 1/4") and the cookies came out beautifully! Like one of the other reviewers, I also added more of the clove, cinnamon, ginger and some nutmeg...really spicy and flavourful. It was an absolutely foolproof recipe and the cookies came out perfectly. I've always been too terrified to try making gingerbread, but after finding this recipe, I think it will become a tradition. NB I couldn't find any molasses in the UK, so I used golden syrup and it was absolutely fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This dough was easy to work with and the cookies came out chewy but sturdy. Love the flavor, too, though they do need icing to be sweet enough for my taste. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Great recipe....I am glad I made this dough to make my gingerbread cookies...it rolled out so easy and to cut out the men,trees,santa and Christmas bells it was perfect....no need to add or take something out...just make as is and u will be so happy..Thanx so much for the great recipe...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chaplin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Had to add a bit more flour than the recipe called for (about 1/4 cup) And the flavor left much to be desired. However, it rolled wonderfully, baked perfectly and was study beyond belief. So, all in all if you're looking for a good recipe to use for gingerbread house making this is a good one, but maybe add some more spices (like some of the other reviewers suggested)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deirdrebeth
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I doubled the spice to give them more flavor. I also had a touch of issue with them rising as much as they do, but once I was aware of that I was able to fix the shapes as they came out of the oven. Leaving them out on the table overnight allowed them to harden up nicely and the building was a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirdrebeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
A nice recipe. Note that the ginger flavour is fairly mild. If you are looking for gingerbreaqd with some bite then look for one with more cloves and ginger. And if you roll it thick it will need longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Great and easy recipe. The whole family enjoyed decorating and eating the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baxter, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States