Classic Gingerbread Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Phenomenal recipe and outcome. The only thing I did "differently" was use sea salt to enhance the flavor (in place of table salt), & I used bakers joy on the cookie sheet because my first few cookies did stick and break. Having freshly ground spices also added to the overall flavor. I am thankful to the owner of this recipe, this is one that will go in my actual recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This might well be the best classic gingerbread cutout recipe I have ever made. Careful not to overcook it or they will be crunchy, as one reviewer noted. If you watch it carefully, however, they are the perfect bite of soft but not crumbly gingerbread. I use a dark molasses as that is what my family prefers and then a quick buttercream icing on top, instead of the royal icing recipe given. The dough is nice and firm and can be rolled without refrigerating first, a big bonus when you have kids antsy to get rolling and cutting! Love it and plan to use it for years to come. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This recipe was easy to follow and turned out great. We had fun baking these up and decorating the different cutouts. Followed the recipe and didn't make any modifications. This recipe will stay in the keep pile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
These are very mild and dry gingerbread cookies. I'm going to add more butter and spices next round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Leigh Amore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
sticky and hard to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Dough was very easy to use for cutouts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Loved this recipe as it used butter instead of shortning! They were pleny sweet and very soft! Huge hit in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
these came out so good, i made a train from mine, and unfortunately, the caboose was eaten by my mom's husband, adn my kids before i even got to assemble it. Guess that means they like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauchula, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Love this recipe for ginger houses and cut outs. So easy to work with, no chilling, yet still yummy and not too hard! ( hint: roll cut outs a little thicker to maintain a soft inside) This is my new go to recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
A great simple base recipe. I tripled the spices, doubled the salt, and used 1/2 c molasses and 2 tbsp water instead of 2/3 cup called for. It was perfect, good flavor and not over the top sweet if you are frosting these. Also used 2 pieces of parchment paper to roll out so I didn't have to add flour to the dough. I rolled mine thin and only baked 6 min. Mmmm, soft and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clegg_connie@yahoo.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States