Classic Fish and Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I made this recipe tonight. The fries were very good and as I always make them but the fish was not. This fish batter recipe brings to mind Yorkshire puddings. The fish was soggy and greasy. My husband ate it, although he said it was not very good, but I could not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendylj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. It was crispy and delicious. I think the key is to make sure your fish is not too wet. I dried the fish thoroughly and it came out just the way we like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Was wonderful after a bit of tweaking. As another review said.. Too salty.I used 1C. flour 1/2 C. cornstarch and a 12 oz. bottle of beer mixed ahead of time.3 hours was fine. No seasoning in batter but did season the flour with Tony Chacheres that I pre dusted the fish with. This batter came out crispy and light and STAYED crispy and light after 20 minutes in the oven while the rest of the fish was fried. It even stayed crisp all through dinner. Not soggy a bit. It took me years to finally get the batter right and I guarantee the cornstarch flour and beer are IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
pretty good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I didn't have any problems with this recipe. Worked perfectly for me I added a bit of cajun seasoning to the batter for a bit more flavor but otherwise left it the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Every time I make these, I get the best compliments. Keep fillets cold and make sure they are dry before dipping in batter. Keeping the chips in ice water makes them cook crispier. Any type of fish works for this recipe. Cook chips first and keep warm in 250 oven because your fish will cook quickly. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I thought the recipe was good. To respond to writers who compare it to English I can say I spent time in London and was not impressed with the fish and chips there. Charlieb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
The batter was pretty bland. I think I can find a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Tried a lot of fish and chips recipe but this is the Best !!! I seasoned the fish with salt and pepper first, still came out very tasty and very crispy yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I use cold beer flour, baking powder and salt turns out very crispy my husband takes the dry ingredients in a ziplock bag adds the beer turns out great . they use this when they go salmon and cod fishing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States