Classic Fish and Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Batter was a little too thick but I thinned it out with some gingerale and added some garlic powder and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Batter did not stay on...at all. I was forced to still serve it due to time constraints. Will never use again. Should have read the reviews first, but i was in a rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZYJ212

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
My hubby just loved this, my 5 year old as well. Have made it twice and going for my third time tonight. It's authentic enough for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Oh my gosh this recipe is exactly what I was looking for! I used whole wheat flour instead of regular flour, and soy milk instead of regular milk. I added onion and garlic powder to the batter. I also seasoned the fries with It was soooo delicious. I am not a fan of fish so I used lean turkey breast instead. This recipe was great and I definitely will do this instead of ordering take out. Thank you so much for posting this I really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary8810002

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: North Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Fantastic starter fish recipe. I have used it many times now and have never had an issue, always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
great recipe! quick and very very tasty. I added one spoon of vinegar to the batter and a pinch of sodium becarbonate (I mixed them separately then added them to the batter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I didn't get this recipe at all. It's basically a pancake recipe which means it's way too heavy and thick for fish batter. English fish batter is supposed to be light and crispy. Fortunately I tested a small piece of fish with it and when i saw the result, I ended up throwing out the rest of the batter. It was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
delicious and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Definately a great fish and chips recipe. I'm from the east coast and have had my fair share, as long as follow the nasic deep frying rules, which can be find in some of the first reviews, you should have no problems. I used freash hallibut that I caught my self in Vancouver island, which taste great! I also tried frozen pollock. I made fresh tartar sauce myself as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crad

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States