Classic Fish and Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This recipe was so good plus easy to make. Now we don't have to go out for fish and fries anymore. I did not charge anything for there wasn't a need to do so. Thanks for this wonderful recipe Dan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Fantastic! We have a new family hit. The batter thoroughly covered the fish, browned up nicely and wasn't greasy at all. I actually made two versions of the batter - one with all purpose flour and regular milk, and one with Gluten Free Pantry all purpose flour (rice flour) and almond milk. The only thing I added was a smidgen of Tony's. I rinsed the fish, drained them, and kept them on a cookie sheet in the fridge until ready to put in the batter. My thermometer was broken so I don't know how hot the oil was, and I had potatoes in the oven, cooking at 425, so I couldn't use that to keep the fish warm afterwards. I kept the oil hot enough that the fish started bubbling the second I put them in. I turned them a couple of times to get them brown on all sides, and took them out while still bubbling. The regular flour cooked up to a golden brown. The Gluten Free was a bit thinner and less brown but as for taste - they were the same. We'll definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
One more comment, for the lady from England. Do you have a preferred recipe? If so please share it with us. I would love to give it a whirl:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
excellent recipe. My son had a craving for fish and chips and I had tilapia in the house. It worked perfectly. The Tilapia was firm and supported the batter. I wish I had read about keeping the fish in a 250 degree oven, the fish was a bit too greasy but yummy.The fries were perfect. All in all a successful meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
everyone loved it!!!a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I used dark beer instead of milk and also, omitted the egg. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Lost my original recipe but this looked pretty close so I gave it a shot and the family loved it every bit of it just as is. Batter on fish is a thin, light crispy coating. Next time i might go half on the salt though. And the fries were yummy even without the sugar that i usually add into the water. However, when I was frying the fish, the batter was coming away from the fish on some of the pieces. Did anyone have the same problem? I didn't let the batter rest for 20 minutes before dipping since I was rushed for time. Could this be the problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I thought the fish was too bland and the breading mixture after frying really didn't get a good crisp. It was too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WanDalicious

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
to all you people out there. 99 percent of the time, if you are getting soggy fish, it is because your oil isn't hot enough, or broken down oil. i have cooked 1000's of fish in my like. and that is the only time the fish is soggy for me. i would have ranked it higher, but i am a panfish and walleye guy. not cod or whitefish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I have made this several times and it is awesome. The batter bubbles up really crispy and my family loves this when I make it. Oil must be hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States