Classic Fajitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
These were good, but I agree, they needed more spice.... maybe sprinkling more seasoning on right before you serve them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
The chicken was definitely a bigger hit in my house! I used olive oil instead and added the juice of one lime to the marinade. I also used 1/2 green bell pepper and 1/2 red bell pepper for extra color. Be a little generous with the seasoning for more of a "kick" or throw in a little jalepeno. Everybody had extra helpings along with guacamole, sour cream, and always use FRESH salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
Thank you! This recipe is simple but wonderful! My husband and I make these several times a month. Tastes good with chicken but best with steak. We saute plenty of onions and green peppers. Let steak marinate in frig while cutting veggies and getting everything else ready. We cook steak and veggies separate, and warm fajita wrappers. Then just add sour cream and salsa. An addictive meal. We always make extra for left overs. I don't think we'll ever get tired of this one. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I used this recipe with chicken for a Cinco de Mayo party, and everyone really liked it. One of my guests said, "I smelled this coming up to your condo and I really hoped that's what we were having!" I used cider vinegar as that is what I had, and before it was done I worried about the vinegar overpowering the other tastes, but that didn't happen at all. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilymarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This recipe is easy and tastes just like fajitas I would get in my favorite mexican restaurant. It's a big crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
These are a great and a nice change from others marinades. I do like to add a little bit of lime juice though. I also cook the maranaide with the meat for extra sauce. You can also adjust the seasoning depending how spicy you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
My family really enjoyed these fajitas. I prepared the meat in the early afternoon and let marinade for about 3 hours. They were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
Ecellent Recipe my family loved it So much flavor with such an easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss G.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Actually, I would give it 3.5 stars. Better than three, but not quite four. First of all, I used shirt steak, By far the most tender cut, and the most suitable for fajitas. I've also used chicken. I don't care much for sauteed meat in fajitas. To me, a truly authentic (or should I say "classic") fajita is fire-grilled. I also don't think that the use of red wine vinegar lends itself well to fajitas. Last time I tried it with lime juice and it was better. The vinegar was too tangy and tasted just like, well, vinegar. But we have enjoyed these with the changes. The recipe as given is just okay but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Delicious. I did reduce the amount of veggie oil, and I used chicken instead of steak. Hubby liked it A LOT. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States