Classic Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These were amazing! I served them with Thanksgiving dinner, and my husband can't stop talking about them (or eating them). They are slightly sweet--much like a Hawaiian roll--and very mild, so they are perfect for topping with Thanksgiving leftovers like cranberry sauce and turkey. I made them almost exactly as written, except that I used hemp milk and Smart Balance Light in place of the milk and butter (to accomodate dairy allergies). I also used white spelt flour instead of AP (wheat allergies). As far as the recipe itself, the only change I made was to proof the yeast with the water and 1 tbs. of the sugar for 10 minutes before adding it to the dry ingredients (along with the warmed milk and Smart Balance). I also used my stand mixer and dough hook instead of kneading it by hand, which took about 5 minutes total. These came out light, fluffy and perfectly golden brown--exactly the dinner roll I was looking for. Fantastic, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Easy.turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Delicious and very easy to make. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
so easy and turned out perfect. I ran the dough cycle in my bread machine, divided them into 12, then put them into an 8 x 10 casserole dish and let them rise again. store bought no more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and found these rolls to be tasty and beautiful. The texture is reminescent of those soft, homemade schoolhouse rolls-- tasty, but not exactly healthy. I'll try this next time with white whole wheat flour with some added gluten. For an old-fashioned treat, these rolls are delicious & easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This recipe has to be the easiest and tastiest roll recipe ever! I kneaded the dough in my Kitchen Aid mixer with the dough hook for 5 minutes. If you are using a mixer for kneading, you can usually cut the original kneading time in half. After 20 minutes in the oven I had fluffy, golden-brown picture-perfect rolls. This is the only roll recipe I will use from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Wonderful recipe, I used every single ingredient as instructed but used my Kitchen Aid to knead the dough for about 7 minutes or so. If you are not used to handling though, make sure you powder your hands with some flour so it doesn't stick to your skin while shaping the bread balls. I have to admit that they were not as fluffy as I wanted them to be, they had a biscuit type of texture so that's why I gave it 4 stars. I will be proofing the yeast next time to see if they come out fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I just made these rolls tonight and they were just OK! The yeast flavor is not popping as I thought it would be. I have never made rolls without eggs! and they weren't as light as some of the reviews stated. I might make them again, but I would like to try something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
These were surprisingly really good! I am new to bread making in general, but can cook anything else easily. So I took the time to make these with a little extra butter to the tops of the bread once they were done and greased the bottom of the pan with butter. I also used the dough hook on my mixer to knead the dough. And the result was they were really tasty! The bottoms were nice and brown and buttery and so were the tops! My husband, son and I polished the whole pan off at dinner! They actually were comparable to Texas Roadhouse's rolls. Definitely a go to for dinner rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States