Classic Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Great recipe! Light, flaky rolls even taste wonderful the next day. Rolls came out perfectly with recipe followed as-is. No proofing needed if liquids are at 120 degrees and using rapid yeast. Did use kitchen aid for most of kneading, hand kneaded for about 2 minutes. Rose beautifully on a covered, warm stove top. I did only get 9-10 rolls with this recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I just took a pan of these out of my oven. Prep was remarkably easy. I used a different brand of instant yeast and unbleached flour. The recipe made 12 rolls in a 8 inch pan although I considered using muffin tins instead. Maybe I will do that or turn them into Parker House rolls the next time. They were not too sweet as some doughs can be, and they rose very nicely. I might try another 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of sugar the next time so that the taste more like my mother's recipe. The rolls closely resemble the photo and I am completely delighted with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by who_me
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Made approx 500 grams of dough. I made 10 rolls at 50 grams a piece. This fit well into a 9" cake pan or pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by who_me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
It tastes good, and it's tender yeasty, but I wish I could get them fluffier. Also, the tops are too hard for me(I glazed them with butter the first time before baking, and after the second time I baked them. Both ways still produce a hard top(not burnt). My church gets these type of rolls from a restaurant and those are brown on the top, very very soft and yeasty with a slight sugar taste to the tops(which are soft and shiny) I am killing myself trying to recreate these rolls and I just can't get it, even though the flavor is just about spot on. Trying to get the texture is getting to me, but I am determined not to give up. Also, I went to a fleischmann's affiliate site called Breadworld that has the same recipe, but they added an egg. I emailed them of my dilemma and asked them if the egg makes a noticeable difference. Will see what they say...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
excellent. The family is ALWAYS asking for it. Great as cloverleaf rolls too. I just double the recipe and make sure I don't overwork the dough when kneading. Cloverleaf rolls are made by placing 3 little balls in each section of a prepared muffin tin. Such a treat !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I was searching for a good dinner roll recipe. After two not v. successful attempts with different recipes I tried this one - rolls came perfect and I didn’t change a thing (except yeast brand). I made them twice so far for two different parties and rolls disappeared in minutes both times. Made them small (a “two bites” size). Also one batch sprinkled with some Parmesan cheese. Will make them again and again. Thank you v.v.v. much. PS: I used my bread maker to make dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Very good, very easy. A little heavier than I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I decided to give theses a try remembering the ones my great grandmother used to make me. I made these with my two and four year olds. I followed the dirctions except i let them rise 30 mins the first go round and close to an hour for the second. The were delicious and almost all gone as sone as they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
The 2nd time I tried this recipe, I decreased the flour to 1 & 3/4 C and the recipe made made absolutely wonderful buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Guler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Hannaford, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States