Classic Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe and gets a long overdue 5 stars from this house... I tweak this recipe (the sugar and salt amount) depending on what the rolls are for and what we are having for dinner. I also let the rolls rise longer than the recipe calls for. I make italian bread, garlic knots, regular dinner rolls, sandwich rolls, hoagie rolls... Shall I continue? All with this recipe. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Bretz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I had an issue with rising and were a little tough. Anybody have any suggestions on this? I had them in a warm spot and followed the recipes exactly. Maybe kneading too much?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeliciaKV
Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Just made these: my apartment smells of butter and dreams. The texture is great but mine didn't come out as smooth as I hoped. Also, I would definitely add another half tsp of salt if using unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Slater

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Made this tonight with the only variation being in rise times...I was in no rush so I let the first rise go for 1hr, then formed the rolls and let them rise for another 30mins. Brushed with milk and sprinkled some poppy seeds on top. Cooked for exactly 20mins. They came out perfectly...soft and fluffy. The are definitely on the sweet side, which is fine by me for a dinner roll. I think you could play with the recipe plenty...mixed italian herbs....bacon and cheese etc. I'll definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dingo007

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ridgway, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Recipe is easy. My family loved these rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I made these rolls on the weekend. They were very simple to make. The texture of the rolls were perfect. What I could not get over was how sweet they were. I think if I make them again, I will try adding less sugar and a tiny bit more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I had to add twice as much milk for the dough to come together but other than that they were great... I also added garlic parmesan butter to top them off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theloghomekitchen
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Truly a classic roll in every way. They are easy to make and have a perfect texture. I used my KA to work the dough. These would be great for sliders/mini sandwiches as someone else may have suggested. If you need a yeast roll that doesn't require alot of time and fuss, this is the one to go to. Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theloghomekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Great recipe! I had to add another 1/2 cup of liquid, as we live at a high altitude (5000 ft). Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Followed exactly, turned out great!! I wish I had made a double batch. Next time I might add a touch more salt, but otherwise they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchesmalone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States