Classic Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I didn't have instant yeast so I changed rising times accordingly. Also, I dissolved the yeast and half the sugar in the warm milk mixture. I used a bit more flour than called for but there are so many variables in flour that I always look at the amount in recipes as a guideline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This recipe is horrible. It states more flour maybe needed this recipe needs a lot of additional flour. Runny and soupy. Had to knead in extra flour. Rolls turned out semi flat not tall rolls like pictured. I will stick with the high rise roll recipe that one has never failed me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I have used this basic roll recipe for years and it has never let me down. My family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Best homemade rolls ever!! Will never buy rolls again! The only thing I changed was a little of the flour - I used 1 cup all purpose flour, 1/2 cup bread flour, and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. Gives them extra flavor! I've only made them twice so far, and had a little trouble with them rising, but next time I will try doing what other reviewers said and proof the yeast in the warm milk mix first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Recipe doesn't yield as many as it claims. I have other bread recipes that are much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FreshPrincessDi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I tried this recipe twice and it just doesn't work. One time I followed directions as written; the other, I proofed the yeast. Neither time did they rise well. Flavor was ok, but texture was halfway between biscuits and rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lindalou
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I'm so glad I came across this recipe. I have never made my own dinner rolls before, but with this recipe I will be making them often. I only had 'bread machine' yeast in the house so I did proof it and it worked great. The only other change was that I used coconut oil instead of butter and they were absolutely flakey and delicious! I baked them in my pampered chef pie plate as mentioned by another reviewer. I made 2 batches and they almost all went! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
A quick and simple roll recipe for family dinners. I followed the recipe exactly and used my KA with dough hook to knead the dough. They turned out light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
For those saying that these are "bland", keep in mind that they are just dinner rolls, not some fancy artisan buns. This recipe makes soft, mildly sweet rolls that are quick and easy to make. I used active-dry yeast because that's what I had at home, so I had to change up my method a bit... I let the yeast proof in the warm liquids and sugar for 10 minutes, then added the flour/salt mixture. I did all the mixing and kneading in my stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Have made this recipe for the kids thanksgiving dinner @ school and for various other functions. This recipe is easy to make and doesn't take alot of skill or time. Family loves them!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States