Classic Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
These turned out really good! I melted about an ounce of Dill Havarti with the milk and butter, and added powder garlic. It gave them a nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Quick and easy dinner rolls! Good flavor and hearty texture; my family loves these rolls. To add variety, I also brush with melted butter before cooking, and then sprinkle chopped rosemary and sea salt on top of about half the pan of rolls. Other good toppings are fine grated Parmesan cheese, poppy seeds, or sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHYTEETEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkeson, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These were good but not what I was looking for,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
they were yummy! I tried this because I dont have a bread machine yet. I halfed the recipe, and used a loaf pan. They came out really small, so Id stick to 12 servings next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaFouts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very good rolls. My family of 4 wiped out a dozen of these in minutes. I have 4 batches of them rising right now as I'm writing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
These did not work for me... I followed the recipe EXACTLY even using the same brands, and they just would not rise. I have never had a problem with rising before, even at altitude, but I usually mix the yeast in with liquid first before adding to mixture. Next time I would dissolve the yeast in with the warm milk mixture and then add that to dry ingredients. As is, these only came out like little balls about 1.5 inches in diameter, not enough for two people! These also are a little sweet but bland, I would reduce the sugar and maybe add a little more salt or some herbs. Won't use these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
The rolls turned out beautifully, light tender crumb. I proofed my yeast with the water and sugar before adding the other ingredients, mixing it by hand and not with a mixer, I also used half all-purpose flour and half bread flour. I only had active yeast, not the rapid rise, so I allowed an hour or so for the first rise, then gently formed a log and cut 12 pieces with my bench scraper and loosely placed them in the cake pan then let them rise another hour. Love the way they turned out, next time I will add a bit more salt, but other then that wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These rolls were easy to make and turned out nicely, despite the fact that I tend to have problems making yeast-based breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I followed it exactly and it had an awful after taste. Don't know what I could've done wrong, I followed it step by step, measurement by measurement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
My family of 4 devoured these!!! After trying many of the bisquit/roll recipes...These are by far my favorite. I let the dough rise next to my wood stove and drizzle melted butter over them before putting in the oven. Moist, tasty...absolutly YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States