Classic Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I was upset with this recipe at first because I thought the rolls weren't going to rise. After giving them an hour to rise, I gave up and stuck them in the oven. There they finally rose some, and the end result was a little roll with a lot of flavor. I feel like they should have risen more, but they were still very good. We ate them with honey-butter. I followed the recipe this time, but next time, I'll proof the yeast first--as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
These are Great! So easy and quick! They are so light and fluffy Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I don't mean to be mean with the two stars. I put my rating at two so others may use the method I stated below when the rolls don't "rise:" Based on the lovely photo of your rolls, I soo wanted this recipe to work out! I, however, experienced much the same as Cooksfor5 who stated that her rolls simply would not rise. Because it is January in Phila., PA, my kitchen is somewhat cool. When checking on the rolls after the 30-minute rise time, I noticed that they had not risen. I removed the rolls from my cool, dark oven and cut the oven on the pre-heat cycle. When the oven reached 100 degrees, I cut it off and placed the rolls back in. After about 12 minutes, I checked to see if the rolls had risen some. Sure enough, they had. I am leaving them in for another 10 or so minutes to see if they will rise more. Here's hoping they do because, again, they look so delicious in your photo. Wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Just made these. I followed the instructions exactly up to the proofing. After shaping into 12 rolls, I placed them in my oven on "proof". It took almost an hour and 15 minutes to double in size. Otherwise, this is a five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Great recipe! Light, flaky rolls even taste wonderful the next day. Rolls came out perfectly with recipe followed as-is. No proofing needed if liquids are at 120 degrees and using rapid yeast. Did use kitchen aid for most of kneading, hand kneaded for about 2 minutes. Rose beautifully on a covered, warm stove top. I did only get 9-10 rolls with this recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I just took a pan of these out of my oven. Prep was remarkably easy. I used a different brand of instant yeast and unbleached flour. The recipe made 12 rolls in a 8 inch pan although I considered using muffin tins instead. Maybe I will do that or turn them into Parker House rolls the next time. They were not too sweet as some doughs can be, and they rose very nicely. I might try another 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of sugar the next time so that the taste more like my mother's recipe. The rolls closely resemble the photo and I am completely delighted with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by who_me
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Made approx 500 grams of dough. I made 10 rolls at 50 grams a piece. This fit well into a 9" cake pan or pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by who_me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
It tastes good, and it's tender yeasty, but I wish I could get them fluffier. Also, the tops are too hard for me(I glazed them with butter the first time before baking, and after the second time I baked them. Both ways still produce a hard top(not burnt). My church gets these type of rolls from a restaurant and those are brown on the top, very very soft and yeasty with a slight sugar taste to the tops(which are soft and shiny) I am killing myself trying to recreate these rolls and I just can't get it, even though the flavor is just about spot on. Trying to get the texture is getting to me, but I am determined not to give up. Also, I went to a fleischmann's affiliate site called Breadworld that has the same recipe, but they added an egg. I emailed them of my dilemma and asked them if the egg makes a noticeable difference. Will see what they say...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
excellent. The family is ALWAYS asking for it. Great as cloverleaf rolls too. I just double the recipe and make sure I don't overwork the dough when kneading. Cloverleaf rolls are made by placing 3 little balls in each section of a prepared muffin tin. Such a treat !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States