Classic Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This is my go to recipe. It's so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Kilcline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
My rolls turned out hard as golf balls. The only change I made is that I used dry yeast instead of instant yeast. But I let it rise first in tepid water with sugar. Even though I buttered the tops they were not shiny like the picture, the butter was absorbed instantly and left them dull again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I changed the recipe a little bit to my liking, and made only half of the recipe since it's just the two of us. I proofed the yeast with the milk, water, and sugar. Then I added only 3/4 cups of flour, because sticky dough=lighter rolls. I didn't make any other changes besides that, and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
It was fabulous!! They were light, fluffy and perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melodie London

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This is like my grandmother's except she used cake yeast and an egg. I have made these rolls many many times now with these adjustments. I add an egg when adding the 1/4 c. Flour. I proof the yeast in the 1/4 c water. I used bread flour and increase it 1/4. All 2 1/4 goes in. I spray bowl then use dough hooks for 6 min. Spray dough with Pam, cover, and let rise. Form rolls from 20-24 rolls in a 10 inch sprayed baking pan. Cover. Let rise. Brush with melted butter. Bake middle rack 18-20 min at 375. Brush with melted butter again when removed from oven. The 1/4 cup flour added to mix is to compensate for egg. By using bread flour I can knead with dough hooks without adding flour and very little is needed to form rolls or crescent. I use rapid rise to shorten time but use same directions. Otherwise active dry yeast is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe and gets a long overdue 5 stars from this house... I tweak this recipe (the sugar and salt amount) depending on what the rolls are for and what we are having for dinner. I also let the rolls rise longer than the recipe calls for. I make italian bread, garlic knots, regular dinner rolls, sandwich rolls, hoagie rolls... Shall I continue? All with this recipe. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Bretz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I had an issue with rising and were a little tough. I had them in a warm spot and followed the recipes exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeliciaKV
Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Just made these: my apartment smells of butter and dreams. The texture is great but mine didn't come out as smooth as I hoped. Also, I would definitely add another half tsp of salt if using unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Slater

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Made this tonight with the only variation being in rise times...I was in no rush so I let the first rise go for 1hr, then formed the rolls and let them rise for another 30mins. Brushed with milk and sprinkled some poppy seeds on top. Cooked for exactly 20mins. They came out perfectly...soft and fluffy. The are definitely on the sweet side, which is fine by me for a dinner roll. I think you could play with the recipe plenty...mixed italian herbs....bacon and cheese etc. I'll definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dingo007

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ridgway, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Recipe is easy. My family loved these rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States