Classic Cuban-Style Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was wonderful! I added more olives (because we love olives), some of the olive brine (instead of more salt) and I didn't have any sazon so I improvised by mixing equal parts of coriander, cumin, achiote (ground annatto), salt and powdered garlic. Served with rice and fried plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arianne Torres

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Great! I added cheese and left out the raisins, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
i thought no one else made this! my recipe is way different though and takes longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This recipe was really quick and easy which works well for weeknights. Our grocery store had different flavors of sazon, so like another reviewer, I found on online substitute which called for equal parts ground corriander, cumin, garlic powder, and paprika. By using the substitute I was able to leave out the salt too. I didn't have pitted olives, so I just used the standard green manzanilla olives, ~18 of them or 1/3 cup. Next time I'll finely dice these olives to have a more even distribution in the dish. I really liked the sweet of the raisins with the salt of the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
There is a Cuban restaurant in the Miami Airport called La Carreta. They serve picadillo there, but this has SO much more flavor - I love the sweetness of the raisins against the capers & olives, along with all the spices. I make it with a good quality grass fed beef and on my 2nd try, I added some of my mother in law's sofrito from Puerto Rico. She makes it with culantro, but I can't find it here. I made it exactly like you said the 1st time around and it was awesome. I didn't find it too salty at all. It's in my recipe box :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skygal0330

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
What a yummy dish! I had about 3/4 lb left over turkey meat taco seasoned to use up, this was the perfect reincarnation for it. I used a red pepper, and after the saute added the turkey. I didn't have any tomato sauce, so I added about 1 1/2 cup Goya caldo de tomate con pollo broth, the other ingredients, and let it simmer down and thicken. I also used golden raisins. Very nice, simple recipe. I enjoyed this very much, gracias, danda22151.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Made it! My whole family loved it. At first I was worried it would be too salty because of the two packs of Sazon, but it was perfect. I didn't add raisins because my family doesn't like them, but I did add the capers because I had them on hand from making piccata yesterday. It was perfect. I served it with Tostones and Spicy Mayo and everyone gobbled it all up. My only recommendation would be to dice the olives a little more finely and I added about 20 small olives versus 6 large ones. Oh, and I didn't have any cumin, but It certainly didn't need it to be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakemma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimmie Kims
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Quick, inexpensive & very tasty. I didn't add cappers but included potatoes. I'll definitely try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie Kims

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I have made picadillo multiple times and this is by far the best recipe I have found. Only changes I made were to pulse the onion, garlic and green pepper in the food processor instead of chopping, omitted the cumin and added extra olives and capers and 2 bay leaves. So quick and so good. I have even made it with ground venison and it was excellent. I will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I have made this 4 times since discovering it. Excellent combination of flavors. Perfect with black beans and rice. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States