Classic Cuban-Style Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I have made this 4 times since discovering it. Excellent combination of flavors. Perfect with black beans and rice. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Very good, quick and easy to prepare. Perfect weekend dinner, served it with black beans/rice. Makes great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
EASY! What a good, filling and flavorful dish! I even used the left over sauce for taco filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Great recipe! I make it at least twice a week :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
My mother made this, without the sugar and the cumin but everything else was just right. Especially the raisins, true Cuban-style. When mom wasn't looking I always added more raisins. This is great on a whitebread sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This recipe was really quick and easy which works well for weeknights. Our grocery store had different flavors of sazon, so like another reviewer, I found on online substitute which called for equal parts ground corriander, cumin, garlic powder, and paprika. By using the substitute I was able to leave out the salt too. I didn't have pitted olives, so I just used the standard green manzanilla olives, ~18 of them or 1/3 cup. Next time I'll finely dice these olives to have a more even distribution in the dish. I really liked the sweet of the raisins with the salt of the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
There is a Cuban restaurant in the Miami Airport called La Carreta. They serve picadillo there, but this has SO much more flavor - I love the sweetness of the raisins against the capers & olives, along with all the spices. I make it with a good quality grass fed beef and on my 2nd try, I added some of my mother in law's sofrito from Puerto Rico. She makes it with culantro, but I can't find it here. I made it exactly like you said the 1st time around and it was awesome. I didn't find it too salty at all. It's in my recipe box :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skygal0330

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Just made it after a 7-mile run. HEAVEN. The only thing is it is a bit salty but that's because of the Goya packets an enterprising individual could make their own seasoning nixing a lot of the added salt. But as it stands, this dish is delish. Also I skipped the raisins. As Wikipedia says, raisins are sometimes in the Cuban version ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was wonderful! I added more olives (because we love olives), some of the olive brine (instead of more salt) and I didn't have any sazon so I improvised by mixing equal parts of coriander, cumin, achiote (ground annatto), salt and powdered garlic. Served with rice and fried plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JiNKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Classic Goulash

This American goulash is so tasty—and can be easily made in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States