Classic Cuba Libre Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
New favorite drink. No, really. This was awesome! I made mine a little......different with Coke Zero and Captain Morgan spiced rum. Even my husband liked this. The fresh lime juice is key. Don't chinze out and use bottled--it won't be as good, trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
My husband has talked about this drink for years since he grew up in St. Croix. I finally tried this and I was surprised how great it is. You could taste all the flavors separately but they blended nicely too. I used Cruzan Estate Diamond Rum and lime from the squeezy bottle. It sounded like a lot of lime juice, but was just right after all. I definitely recommend this! Thanks for the taste of the islands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Delicious! I cut the lime juice in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Is this just a rum and coke? Yes and there's no problem with that, it's still a recipe and deserves to be here. I really support the submitter's inclusion of substantial lime juice. It just isn't the same when you order a double and get some skinny lime wisp floating on the top: it's always going to be a great drink but I feel the lime juice sets off the light sweetness of the rum. This is my absolute FAVORITE coctail with Bacardi white rum and diet Coke, made that way it's one of the lowest calorie coctails and most every place can make it for you. Cheers, thanks very much for submitting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
It is very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cornelia_sltz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I was introduced to the Cuba Libre many moons ago. My favorite drink. For a true Cuba Libre it must be Bacardi dark rum, Cola and a lime wedge. I prefer coke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Pretty good, simple drink. I made this with coke but I'm more of a pepsi fan...will be trying that next time. I also like the extra lime kick in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
even better if you make it with Coconut Rum & Diet Coke. And the Lime of course!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
It's just a rum and coke with lime. Can't really go wrong with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cuba Libre Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender whip up this classic rum-based cocktail.

Classic Spanish Sangria

Watch how to make this authentic version of the popular wine drink.

Classic Wine Pairings

Discover wine and food matchups made in heaven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States