Classic Cranberry Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Everyone loves this recipe! The only changes I make are that I use butter instead of shortening and I don't chop the cranberries. I love seeing the whole cranberry when the bread is sliced. I use walnuts, but I'm sure pecans would be equally as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Very good! This is the recipe from the back of the Ocean Spray cranberries bag, and also the same as several other recipes on this site. When I took it out of the oven I immediately put aluminum foil over the top and left it in the pan for 15-20 mins, the steam helps to moisten the bread. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I've made this recipe twice. Each time the bread was disappointingly dry & not very flavorful. But after adding some of your suggestions, I can now give this 5 Stars. I used canola oil instead of shortening & increased the amount to 4 tablespoons. Also increased cranberries to 2 cups & nuts to 1 cup. Superb, moist, delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Great loaf of bread! I actually doubled the recipe and got 3 8x4" loafs...worked out perfectly! Also omitted the orange peel and used fresh squeezed (w/pulp) juice...it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This is my favorite Cranberry bread recipe except my recipe calls for 1/4 cup butter instead of the shortening. I have also added 1 1/2 cups of light raisins along with the 1 1/2 cups of cranberries - delish and beautiful as well. The original changes I found in a children's book called "Cranberry Thanksgiving" by Wende and Harry Devlin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ga.Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
SO GOOD! I followed the recipe exactly except I used butter instead of shortening. Used walnuts, and would make it exactly the same way next time! Very flavorful (and FULL of cranberries)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sophie's Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this for Christmas. After baking, it looked a little pale so I made a simple confectionery sugar/milk icing to put on top of the bread. It was fantastic. I think the icing gave it a little more sweetness which we liked. My husband raved about it. Thank you for such a great new Christmas tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This recipe is the same one that has been handed down in our family for many generations. It is wonderful. Sometimes we add pecans instead of walnuts for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spirit Lake, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I love this recipe! It tasted so good I couldn't believe it. The fresh chopped cranberries were delicious. I didn't have orange juice, so I substituted cranberry juice, I used canola oil, I didn't add the nuts, and I cut the sugar down to 3/4 Cup. It still was pretty sweet, so I might cut the sugar down to 1/2 Cup next time. I'm definitely going to make this again and share this recipe with other people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilentStarlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
SO GOOD! The orange juice and zest really add to the flavor. This tasted like something I get with my latte at a coffee shop. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOUNDMYZEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States