Classic Cranberry Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Everyone loves this recipe! The only changes I make are that I use butter instead of shortening and I don't chop the cranberries. I love seeing the whole cranberry when the bread is sliced. I use walnuts, but I'm sure pecans would be equally as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Very good! This is the recipe from the back of the Ocean Spray cranberries bag, and also the same as several other recipes on this site. When I took it out of the oven I immediately put aluminum foil over the top and left it in the pan for 15-20 mins, the steam helps to moisten the bread. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I've made this recipe twice. Each time the bread was disappointingly dry & not very flavorful. But after adding some of your suggestions, I can now give this 5 Stars. I used canola oil instead of shortening & increased the amount to 4 tablespoons. Also increased cranberries to 2 cups & nuts to 1 cup. Superb, moist, delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Great loaf of bread! I actually doubled the recipe and got 3 8x4" loafs...worked out perfectly! Also omitted the orange peel and used fresh squeezed (w/pulp) juice...it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This is my favorite Cranberry bread recipe except my recipe calls for 1/4 cup butter instead of the shortening. I have also added 1 1/2 cups of light raisins along with the 1 1/2 cups of cranberries - delish and beautiful as well. The original changes I found in a children's book called "Cranberry Thanksgiving" by Wende and Harry Devlin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ga.Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
SO GOOD! I followed the recipe exactly except I used butter instead of shortening. Used walnuts, and would make it exactly the same way next time! Very flavorful (and FULL of cranberries)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sophie's Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this for Christmas. After baking, it looked a little pale so I made a simple confectionery sugar/milk icing to put on top of the bread. It was fantastic. I think the icing gave it a little more sweetness which we liked. My husband raved about it. Thank you for such a great new Christmas tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This recipe is the same one that has been handed down in our family for many generations. It is wonderful. Sometimes we add pecans instead of walnuts for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spirit Lake, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I love this recipe! It tasted so good I couldn't believe it. The fresh chopped cranberries were delicious. I didn't have orange juice, so I substituted cranberry juice, I used canola oil, I didn't add the nuts, and I cut the sugar down to 3/4 Cup. It still was pretty sweet, so I might cut the sugar down to 1/2 Cup next time. I'm definitely going to make this again and share this recipe with other people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilentStarlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
SO GOOD! The orange juice and zest really add to the flavor. This tasted like something I get with my latte at a coffee shop. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOUNDMYZEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States