Classic Crab and Shrimp Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Excellent recipe EXCEPT for the onion. I love onion and using only half of a Vidalia was still heavy on flavor. I eased off on the green bell pepper too, probably using only half. We had plenty of shrimp in the freezer, but no crab, so I used Orange Roughy instead. (If you're unfamiliar with this fish, it has a similar texture and flavor to crab/lobster.) Once all the mayo, onion, pepper, celery and seasonings were mixed in, it blended in beautifully. I added some Old Bay too. Good stuff for a cool, summertime lunch! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKNIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altavista, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I'm making some more real soon. Just try it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This shrimp salad is simply the best! Just to kick it up a notch, I added a little chopped bacon & a pinch of Penseys Parisien Bonnes Herbes. I made sure to finely chop the celery after peeling off the stalk "strings" and I used 3 eggs, not 2. I also used sweet onion (I've done this with green onions; they work great too). I just love this recipe! It's so simple and easy!!! Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSKREMSER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Simple, delicious, and can't wait to use it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Not bad. After sitting in the refrigerator and having the flavors 'marry' this was a pretty good salad. Way too many onions but I don't like them anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was great. I used 1 small onion, and 1/2 a medium sized green pepper. I also added in 1/4 cup of Old Bay seafood seasoning, along with ground black pepper, parsley, and a pinch of lemon-pepper seasoning. It was great. I served it with butter lettuc. I will most surely frequent allrecipes.com for more tasty recipes such as this one. I think that the key is, if you have been cooking long enough, then you can kinda tweak any recipe to your own liking. The addition of the Old Bay gave it the taste I was going for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very tasty and easy to prepare. Guests loved it and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NitroBurns

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was good-but not amazing. It does taste very similar to the typical seafood salad you can buy at the meat counter of your local grocery store. If this is what you are looking for then this recipe is for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessxcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This wasn't quite the seafood salad I was hoping for, but it was still quite pleasant, especially when heaped atop a Ritz cracker and served with pickled items. The green bell pepper and onion was a bit overwhelming; my recommendation would be to use half of each. If you're craving more of a deli-style seafood salad, use imitation crab in place of the fresh crab meat, or mix in a bit of baker's sugar with the Worchestshire sauce prior to adding to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Zesty Zaftig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is so good. The flavors mixed well. I used a whole small onion. I thought it was perfect. We ate it on pita bread and crackers. It would even be great on a tossed salad. I will be taking this to our Easter gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States