Classic Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Very good. Probably not amazing enough to warrant the time it took to complete all of the steps in the recipe. I like to cook, so it was fun to put in the effort, but I must admit that a quality store bought roll is not that different. Trader Joe's "Jumbo Cinnamon Roles" are very similar, cheap, quick, and also non-hydrogenated. For this recipe, I definitely needed to double the icing, I used a brown sugar/cinnamon/chopped pecan filling, and I added raisins to some and not to others. Both versions were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
These were my first go at making homemade cinnamon rolls. They were delicious once they were finally done. I forgot to reserve the potato water. I used more sugar and cinnamon in the filling than called for. And next time, I would make more icing. I do recommend using a stoneware cookie sheet or something that in non-stick, so they don't burn. My husband loved these and took them to work this morning. Make these on a day off though when you have time to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I don't know if I did something wrong but I wasn't blown away by these. They were decent though. I added more cinnamon sugar and I still thought they were lacking something. The dough was also a lot stickier than I thought it would be like a lot of others posted. It was my first time making cinnamon rolls though and I think they came out pretty good considering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Oh my goodness! I can bake, but don't always have the best luck with breads. These came out perfectly! The whole family loved them. The bread is so moist and fluffy. I did add some orange zest to the dough batter, as that's a personal preference for recipes like this. Also, for the filling, I multiplied it by 1.5 and melted the butter and stirred in 1 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar, and 1 tb cinnamon. For the icing, I had leftover cream cheese icing from Christmas, though not enough. So I made this icing, again adding zest and a squeeze of orange and I used heavy cream as I had a little of that left in the fridge to use up. I combined the two icings and it was the best icing I've ever had. To note: I didn't have any trouble with this in my kitchenaid. I did end up with 9 cups flour in it, leaving it just a smidge sticky to rise, as I knew I'd be working in more flour in the next step. Do not overwork the dough. This one's a keeper. I'll be making it every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This recipe is incredible. Had many compliments! I only had white sweet potatoes so I used them and they worked in this just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I have teenage boys who are always looking for food. Made these on Christmas Eve, They didn't make it through Christmas, 2 dozen gone by Christmas night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Absolutely amazing!!! 5 stars is not enough. This is a 10 star recipe without a doubt. The addition of potatoes makes this recipe. I will never again make breads or rolls without adding mashed potatoes. Potatoes is what makes these rolls moist and tender. I have no idea why potatoes makes such an enormous difference, although I did attempt to find out why. If anyone knows the science behind mixing yeast and potatoes, please reply. I tried for a couple of hours yesterday to find the answer but came up empty. When making these rolls I did follow a couple of tips from previous posters. Mixing the butter, sugar, and cinnamon really does help keep the filling in place when rolling. Also, dental floss for cutting is the best way to cut dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This recipe was WoNdErFul!!! I have tried to make cinnamon rolls in the past and they didn't come out right but this recipe was so goooood... definitely gonna try it again...:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gottaluvlife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
These are wonderful. I've been making cinnamon rolls for years and I do think these are the best yet. I needed to add a bit more flour then called for but that was all. I wasn't sure how many potatoes to use....I did 3 small-med and had leftover mashed potatoes. I'll do 2 next time. I used the frosting from the clone of a cinnnabon, which I think is the best. Next time I'll add more filling....I think that was the only flaw to this recipe.. Thanks...I'll make them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBACK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
No need to ever try another recipe. These are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States