Classic Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Booyah
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Wow, these rolls were a lot of work but soooo worth it, my husband ate 3 before I could snatch them away. I did make a few changes like adding a cup of chopped pecans that I toasted in butter before sprinkling over the warm frosting. And I used the Cinnabon Clone recipe for both the frosting and filling. I also had to add quite a bit more flour to the dough since it was too sticky to work with. I will definitely be making these again for guests over the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Booyah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I have NEVER EVER had better cinnamon rolls . My whole family loves them and anyone else that makes it to my home fast enough to get to try one loves them too! This recipe halves easily also. Thank you for the such a phenomenal treat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jada1979

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
added 1/2 orange juice and 1/2 water for first liquid. smidge of vanilla too. used orange juice as liquid in frosting too. doubled filling also. put fresh cracked walnuts on top before putting icing on, and are divine. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clevermom2004@yahoo.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
o.m.g. these were AMAZING. i was totally thrown off by using mashed potatoes, but they turned out delicious! i had to use much more than 8.5 cups of flour - probably closer to 10.5! and they turned out delcious. also had closer to 35 (unevenly sized) rolls than 24 - which was great. :) thanks for the recipe - definitely a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flowergirl21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This recipe is amazing!! I had never made cinnamon buns before and made them for my husband's birthday and everyone said they are the most amazing cinnamons buns they've ever had. For the filling I use the ratio of what is written of sugar to cinnamon and butter but I use 2 times the amount of sugar mixture recommended and it turns out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rita
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
They are great! Although I would double the filling next time and make them smaller as they really rose to become quite large and I found it difficult to finish one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I love these rolls. I halved the recipe and don't know whether there was something in the air, but I ended up adding close to 6 cups of flour for half a recipe, otherwise it was too sticky to handle. Most of what I've read about bread says the amount of flour used can change from day to day depending on the weather and other factors. I even let it rest between kneadings and it was still too sticky, but was easier to handle after it went through the first rise. Also, for the second rise, I poured boiling water into a pan in the oven and placed the rolls in the oven for about 20 minutes (oven turned off). Not sure what this does, but I saw Alton Brown do this. I also used a cream cheese icing instead. Since I just made them, I hope they don't become rock hard by tomorrow considering all the flour I added. Overall, I think these were as good or better than Cinnabon's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Absolutely wonderful!! This was my first attempt at cinnamon rolls and they are divine! I didn't have real potatoes so I made a cup of instant potatoes and just used plain water in place of the potato water. They turned out perfect. My husband said they were the best he's ever had. Just one note - next time I will wait the 15 minutes before putting on the frosting (as hard as that is). I feel like it weighed down the soft centers while they were still hot and made them seem gooey. I cut the recipe in half and got 16 rolls. All of which will likely be gone by tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
My whole family loved these! I also substituted cream cheese rather than butter and brown sugar instead of white sugar on the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Moir

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Wow...best cinnamon rolls I've ever made. I halved the recipe for my family of 5...although next time I'll make the full recipe because everyone loved it so much! They were light and fluffy and gooey and perfect! I did 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar and added more cinnamon and walnuts to the filling. I also added cream cheese to the frosting. I also made these the night before and let the rise in the fridge overnight. I took them for about 30 mins to warm up and then baked them. They were divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States