Classic Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I read all the reviews and was almost afraid to make these rolls ;-) because everybody was talking about how good they were, how they were melting in the mouth. But it also encouraged me to try these. I'm so happy and relieved I did and that I can say the same: they ARE melting in your mouth and they ARE the best rolls ever! and it was easy and fun to make. I'm thrilled that I can make these myself now, many many many thanks for this recipe and all the reviews! About the yeast: I don't have here Fleischmann's yeast and my yeast must be mixed dry in the flour. So I mixed first the eggs and about 2 cups of flour in the potatomixture and added then the flour/yeast mix cup by cup. I also didn't use a kitchenaid, just first a whisk, then a wooden spoon and when this was also too heavy my hands. From Annemarie in Hurghada in Egypt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Love them. It's best to have them on your pan and ready to bake for the am. They are absolutely the best right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I love how the dough was soft and so delicious! Favorite cinnamon roll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Perfect soft gooey cinnamon rolls. I have been looking for a recipe like this for a long time! keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peshtigo, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I look forward to making these again. As others suggested, I changed the filling to brown sugar and cinnamon. I also made the rolls the night before and covered the slices in the pan with Saran wrap and a towel on top. They still rose in the refrigerator and just baked them in the morning. It was a huge time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Best I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made them again with a few changes: used bread flour and buttermilk in place of the hot water. They were "absolutely positively the best cinnamon rolls ever!" (my husband's words) My husband said they were the best; my son rated them superb! I used the filling from the "Clone of a Cinnabon" recipe along with their cream cheese icing. It's amazing how simply adding mashed potatoes can make these cinnamon rolls so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Delicious!! Really great recipe and easy to make. Perfect texture and taste. I followed other reviewers advice and doubled the icing. I didn't have bourbon vanilla extract so I just added 1/4 tsp bourbon to the icing. Also added fresh lemon juice to icing. This is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oxford1216

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
When I read the recipe, the mashed potatoes hooked me into trying it. I followed the dough recipe (subbing more hot H2O and butter for potato H2O) and got at least 50% more after kneading and rolling (not a bad thing, just more product). Instead of a cinnamon filling, I stewed down minced prunes (dried plums for the PR inclined) in juice and brown sugar. I began with a qtr cup apple cider, ran out, went to OJ, ran out and then to Cran-grape. I gently stewed the mix down into a paste. Choice of juice did not seem to matter though I prefer the cider. Made one dish of huge beautiful rolls and another 9x13 of a layered pastry. Both are great and both have good presentation presence. The rolls rival any I've had anywhere. I intend to experiment with other fruits in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Very good. Probably not amazing enough to warrant the time it took to complete all of the steps in the recipe. I like to cook, so it was fun to put in the effort, but I must admit that a quality store bought roll is not that different. Trader Joe's "Jumbo Cinnamon Roles" are very similar, cheap, quick, and also non-hydrogenated. For this recipe, I definitely needed to double the icing, I used a brown sugar/cinnamon/chopped pecan filling, and I added raisins to some and not to others. Both versions were tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States