Classic Chicken and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
DELICIOUS and easy meal! My husband usually has three bowls full, and even my picky toddler and 6 year old will eat it. Definitely follow the "Fast Chicken Soup Base" recipe and use that, makes it so much more flavorful than plain old canned broth. In addition to parsley I use thyme, and depending on what's in my pantry/fridge I replace the white rice with wild rice or fine egg noodles, add parsnips and celery, eliminate the peas (not a fan). And I simmer it much longer than the 10-20 minutes recommended, more like 2 hours. Serve with a salad and nice crusty bread or rolls, and you have yourself a super meal!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
I just boiled my own whole chicken instead of buying a roasted one at the supermarket. That might make a difference in the flavor. I don't know. I used the chicken broth after I boiled the chicken and then strained it and added 3 more cans of canned chicken broth. Make sure you use dried thyme leaves and not ground thyme like I did. I have thyme growing in my flowerbeds, I should have added that instead (oh well). I also added a little tarragon. My boyfriend liked it. I liked it to although we'll be eating chicken soup for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Very good. Boiled the carcas longer than recommended here. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This dish is so tasty! My friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Excellent recipe. Delicious, quick and easy. Most of the time is spent simmering the broth and soup. Perfect for a cold winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael J. Wild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is a keeper!! I didn't want to go to the store so I made alternates. I used 5 1/2 chicken breasts, which I boiled, and kept the chicken broth from it. I added a couple of Tablespoons of Chicken Boullion to the broth. And I used 3 quarts of broth, instead of 2 quarts of broth and 1 qt. of water. I had left over spanish rice, so I used 3 cups. And last but least, instead of peas, I used green beans. It's a winter dish, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Made the soup base suggested. Added two small bay leaves, left out the peas, and ended up having to add an additional carton of chicken broth. Had been craving chicken and rice soup all week and this was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
* I must be stupid, but where's the chicken?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
to elaine: the chicken is in the Fast Chicken Soup Base recipe! Make that, then add this recipe. This is wonderful stuff. I use less onions that called for in the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States