Classic Cherries Jubilee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Makes great pie filling! I had a bunch of fresh cherries to use up, and almost all the recepies I was interested in needed pie filling. I came across this and thought - 2 desserts in one! Sometimes cherry pie filling is just too "cherry". I like rich flavor that comes from the addition of orange and brandy. Plus I used almond extract instead of cherry extract. We ate 2 servings of it right away as Cherries Jubilee, and saved the left overs for Cherry Crisp the next day. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Excellent and I made a few substitions. I used 1/2 teas Brandy extract and 1/2 teas vanilla extract instead of the brand and cherry extract. Whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
this was easy and we all loved it! It was fun to watch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shorewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Delicious & easy to make. I didn't have any cherry extract on hand, so I followed a previous reviewer's advice & substituted with almond extract. Unfortunately we lit the pan outside, and couldn't see the blue flame because it was too bright out. We could hear the flame interestingly enough & feel the heat, so we knew it worked. My advice would be to light the flame in a darker setting so you can enjoy the display. We'll do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Wow, I feel like a world class chef! This was easy and delicious and my guests were amazed! I made just two changes, I left out the water and subbed cherry juice from the can and I forgot the cherry extract and it still turned out beautiful. I almost messed it up by stirring in the brandy, but my husband stopped me in time and instead I just poured it over the top and then lit it with a long match (I was so worried that it wouldn't light up) blue flames sprouted and when they started to go out I tipped the pan a little to keep them going as long as possible. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Very nice show and yummy flavor. I used almond extract, not cherry. Too bad the pictures didn't come out - next time I'll figure out how to turn off the flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
If you really want to try a dessert from the 70's, this is for you. I've had this in restaurants & it was good----this recipe has a very nice flavor to it with the hint of orange & brandy, & then served warm over ice cream......well what's not to like. Like the recipe says, impressive to guests, just not something you'd make frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE2830

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
The flames were hypnotic. My friends were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Delicious overall, but I like them a bit saucier, so I added some water while they simmered. I also used the almond extract since I did not have the cherry on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
very good...instead putting brandy in, i put some vanilla on sugar cubes and place cubes on cherry jubille and light ...cubes melt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grannyvikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Classic Wine Pairings

Discover wine and food matchups made in heaven.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States