Classic Cherries Jubilee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I really loved this recipe, I didn't think it smelled too great cooking but as soon as I tasted it, I fell in love! It was very sweet! I couldn't find cherry extract so I used blackberry brandy and it was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This is a delicious dessert with the added drama of the flambe. I had some cherries in the fridge and didn't know what to do with them and decided to give this a try. Most of the ingredients I had on hand except for the cherry extract. I couldn't find that at my grocery store so I used almond extract instead. The flambe effect was a big hit, and it tasted delicious over vanilla ice cream. I'll be making this again when I have a dinner party for the presentation alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
We had so many fresh cherries to use up that I made half batches of this recipe three nights in a row! The first night, I had no flames at all. The second night, they became slightly visible. The third night, they were huge like others described! I had to change a few things to get it to happen. First, I heated the brandy for 15 seconds in the microwave right before attempting to light it. Second, I didn't remove the pan from the heat until I had already lit the brandy. I was following the directions and removing from heat but not getting flames. I think part of the reason is that the temperature of the pan was going too cool right as I was trying to light. I will make this again and again now that I got the flames! I also omitted the orange zest and subbed almond extract for cherry; it was still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
very good...instead putting brandy in, i put some vanilla on sugar cubes and place cubes on cherry jubille and light ...cubes melt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grannyvikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
this was easy and we all loved it! It was fun to watch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shorewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Wow, I feel like a world class chef! This was easy and delicious and my guests were amazed! I made just two changes, I left out the water and subbed cherry juice from the can and I forgot the cherry extract and it still turned out beautiful. I almost messed it up by stirring in the brandy, but my husband stopped me in time and instead I just poured it over the top and then lit it with a long match (I was so worried that it wouldn't light up) blue flames sprouted and when they started to go out I tipped the pan a little to keep them going as long as possible. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Excellent and I made a few substitions. I used 1/2 teas Brandy extract and 1/2 teas vanilla extract instead of the brand and cherry extract. Whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Very nice show and yummy flavor. I used almond extract, not cherry. Too bad the pictures didn't come out - next time I'll figure out how to turn off the flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Delicious overall, but I like them a bit saucier, so I added some water while they simmered. I also used the almond extract since I did not have the cherry on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Delicious & easy to make. I didn't have any cherry extract on hand, so I followed a previous reviewer's advice & substituted with almond extract. Unfortunately we lit the pan outside, and couldn't see the blue flame because it was too bright out. We could hear the flame interestingly enough & feel the heat, so we knew it worked. My advice would be to light the flame in a darker setting so you can enjoy the display. We'll do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Strawberry Shortcake

Discover Chef John's family recipe for this iconic summer classic.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States