Classic Carbonara with Pancetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Have made this a few times, a few different variations. I've used bacon ( instead of pancetta) and added spinach and mushrooms to the sauté in the beginning and this is just wonderful! Will enjoy this time and again in my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Good. I substituted bacon for the pancetta, and I omitted the nutmeg and pinenuts because I didn't have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is a simple but great tasting recipe! I don't like pine nuts so I left those out and deglazed the pan with 1/4 cup dry white wine after the pancetta. I was only cooking for two so made half the recipe and had enough for one lunch the next day. Would love to find a way to cut the cream so we can eat it more often w/o the guilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ive
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing this recipe. I loved it and so did my co-workers. I've made it several times and it always tastes great. The last time I made it, I added 1 bunch of asparagus and replaced the pancetta with prosciutto. Yummy. What do you think of Carbonara with shitake mushrooms, spinach, and veal? Thanks again for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This recipe was quite good. I found the sauce just a teeny bit watery for my liking, so I added more Parmesan. I also added mushrooms with the onions. Will definitely make again and with a few minor tweaks. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
tasty but u wanna eat it right away or the sauce gets scrable eggs when u head it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yessenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was FANTASTIC! I added extra cheese... I am a cheese freak. But, this is definitely one of my favorite recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
We had this on a night before a race and expanded the recipe to generously feed eight. Couldn't have been better. It was delicious! I used a mixture of bacon and pancetta and substituted fettucine for the penne. Also, the pancetta was so salty, I used no additional salt. I did, however, grind out more pepper than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
We really liked this one! Left out the pine nuts, and added 2 tbsp of minced shallot. Will probably go a little lighter on the cream next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States