Classic Carbonara with Pancetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
We really liked this one! Left out the pine nuts, and added 2 tbsp of minced shallot. Will probably go a little lighter on the cream next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
overall this was a good recipe. had no problem with cooking this without the eggs scrambling. just have patience and do not crank up the heat to warm through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Make this all the time! We use it with the Fresh Pasta recipe and my Husband asks for it all the time. We do usually bump up the veggie count a little, adding broccoli, tomatoes, and spinach at the end plus anything else that catches our eye. Make sure to use the tips about reserving the cheese and eggs until the end, otherwise it's scrambled egg pasta...still good, but not as fantastic. I also add a little bit of nutmeg. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springhill, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is not at all the classic Italian Carbonara. The Real Carbonara is simply 1 whole egg gently beat and added to that 24-36 month aged parmagiano-reggiano until you acheive a thick consistency or how you prefer with a pinch of salt and a twist of fresh ground pepper and of course the smoked pancetta not cooked till its crisp.Then add to that your preffered pasta . We use Tagliatelle egg pasta. This is a true recipe from Parma, Italy. But I am sure the other is nice too but is not an original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mooresville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was good. Better on the 2nd day. I added crushed red pepper and 1.5 cups of peas (cooked), used extra black pepper and nutmeg and linguine. Should have used a large onion instead of small. The thing i liked most about this is that there was just the right amount of sauce. I was worried that it would be too little but it turned out just right. The night I made it, it seemed a little bland, but when I brought it for lunch the next day, the flavors had had a chance to really meld so it was much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Simple and yummy! I enjoyed making it and my family enjoyed eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Very tasty but a little too rich for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Yay, this turned out perfectly! I needed a lot of patience to keep stirring the pasta while the sauce heated without turning up the flame, but it was well worth it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
My family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States