Classic Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I love this recipe. Even those who say they don't like sweet potatoes like this recipe. I absolutely hate those marshmallow sweet potato dishes, so this is just simple and wonderful. I am considering not boiling the potatoes this year and just adding them to the baking pan raw with the sauce. Has anyone tried this method? I hope it works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Since my oven is always full on the holidays, I make this in an electric skillet pan on the counter top (worth the $19.99 just to make this dish). Vent the lid. Delete the water, since it will create condensation that will thin the brown sugar sauce. I always try to lift the lid so that minimum condensation drops into the pan. My grandmother used to cook them this way with the lid off to make the sauce thicker, but it will take longer to cook this way.Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This recipe is wonderful. I made it exactly as it says only I cut up my yams before boiling them. Everyone loved it and I will definatley make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This is a FANTASTIC recipe. Everyone loved them! I did change just a few things, I made these steaming them first and I have also made these without par cooking first (which I will do from now on), both were fabulous. A also added a little cinnamon and nutmeg to them just to give them that classic "Holiday" flavor. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing. My mother-in-law said they were even better than hers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mld685

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
These were good. They needed more than half an hour to get soft by steamin, but when I baked them they became like a cassorole, which was fine. Cut the water to 1/4 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This is good, but my grandmother used a recipe that is so easy...get a lge can of yams, slice thin lengthwise and place close together on cookie sheet. Top with a generous sprinkling of drk brn sugar and sliced butter pats. put in 400F oven until juice is thick bubbles. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
We always make this kind of candy potato but never had a recipe to follow so it candy sauce comes out different. Now we make it this way and they are always excellent. I only use a 1/4 cup of water though. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
Too easy, and sinfully good. Loved the ease of this recipe, came out delicious. Will be my standby sweet potato recipe from now on, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This was an excellent recipe - even when made for 24 people! My father was especially pleased there was a lot of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This is one of the best sweet potato recipes i've tried...add a sprinkle of cinnamon and it's divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States