Classic Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
First time making this, it was great! In the saucepan I added cinnamon nutmeg and a touch of vanilla. But overall it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This is how my mom always made sweet potatoes, we put mini marshmallows on top the last few minutes until they brown. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These were really good and easy! I precooked the sweet potatoes by baking them in the oven instead of steaming. I cut the amount of water in the butter mixture in half, but other than that - this recipe was wonderfully easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
These were good and it was an easy dish to fix. I used canned cut sweet potatoes. Good classic recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I have always made these potatoes without a recipe to follow, so the taste was different every time. I tweaked the recipe a bit. After boiling the potatoes & cutting into 1" rounds, I fried them on each side until browned. I also changed the sauce a bit, based on other reviews. I cut the water to 1/8 cup & added 1/8 cup of clear Karo. I brought the mixture to a boil for about 5-10 minutes, making sure the sugar was dissolved. Then I poured the sauce mixture over the potatoes lined in a 9" x 13" pan. I baked in the oven at 350 until the sauce was bubbly. I made this for a potluck at work & many loved it. Thank you for a simple recipe that I can now follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Loved it...The best candied sweet potatoes. My family was looking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
My family raved over this dish on Thanksgiving. I was true to the recipe except it took longer for my sweet potatoes by about 10 minutes and I put the marshmallows on top! Fabulous! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
It was a hit at my thanksgiving table. I left it in the oven about 15 min longer for better browning at the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Newington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Simple and terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These were delicious. Made this for Thanksgiving dinner yesterday and my family liked it. I made a few changes and substituted about 1/4 cup orange juice for the water. Next time I might add a bit more orange juice to it. I also added cinnamon to it and it was delightful. I will definately make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States