Classic Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JOSEPHINE
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
These are awesome. probably the best sweet potatoes i've ever made. Nothing fancy, just good,simple ingredients and excellent taste. Well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSEPHINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This is the easiest recipe and the potatoes taste great! All the ingredients are already in the pantry. Because they are still in chunks, the sweetness is not overpowering (I cut them into 2" chunks instead of 1/2" slices)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
Fabulous!!!! This is almost exactly my mom's recipe for Thanksgiving sweet potatoes (or Christmas, Easter, etc.) First rate taste, the simple recipes are the best. I just dotted with a bit more butter & sprinkled a bit of brown sugar on before baking, it adds some caramelizing (is that a word?)to the tops of some of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Our family gobbled this up on Thanksgiving. Very easy and delicious. This recipe will be a holiday regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This recipe was very easy and delicious. My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This was so yummy! I made it for Thanksgiving. I actually cooked the casserole in my crock pot instead of the oven, to save oven space, and it was perfect. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
These were excellent. Based on other reviews, I made some adjustments: used only 1/4 cup water and let the mixture boil for 10 minutes. Next time, I'm not going to add any water at all. I also added a tsp of cinnamon. Excellent. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
I kept these on the stove burner and out of the oven. I am glad I did, these were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This is one of the best sweet potato recipes i've tried...add a sprinkle of cinnamon and it's divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This was an excellent recipe - even when made for 24 people! My father was especially pleased there was a lot of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States