Classic Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I prepared this dish for a host of friends and family over the holiday. Guess how many new besties I have now? Lots! It was a yummy down home sucess. I highly recommend this recipe for its easy preparation and tasty goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Scott-Barron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Made this last minute for thanksgiving. Only used 1/4 cup of water & put marshmallows on top. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan's nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Yet again another success for our Thanksgiving Meal. The family always raves about how wonderful these potatoes are!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Thanks for providing the perfect measurements in recreating this CLASSIC candied sweet potato recipe! Now I'm able to consistently bring the same dish that my grandmother brought to the table every year... and even better! My son's and daughter in laws are embracing this dish as the traditional standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOsan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Substitute ginger ale for the water. Delish !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Great recipe! I changed it a bit. I used canned sweet potatoes and cooked them in a frying pan. I also added a little cream instead of water which made the sauce thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridley Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cochranville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Absolutely classic candied sweet potatoes. Not overly sweet and a beautiful golden brown color when finished cooking. The only thing to mention is that I prefer a somewhat solid but well cooked potato so I under cook them before baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Trevor, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I made smaller recipe for just 2. Peeled and sliced sweet spuds after baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
First time making this, it was great! In the saucepan I added cinnamon nutmeg and a touch of vanilla. But overall it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This is how my mom always made sweet potatoes, we put mini marshmallows on top the last few minutes until they brown. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States