Classic Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This was so yummy! I made it for Thanksgiving. I actually cooked the casserole in my crock pot instead of the oven, to save oven space, and it was perfect. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
These were excellent. Based on other reviews, I made some adjustments: used only 1/4 cup water and let the mixture boil for 10 minutes. Next time, I'm not going to add any water at all. I also added a tsp of cinnamon. Excellent. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
Fabulous!!!! This is almost exactly my mom's recipe for Thanksgiving sweet potatoes (or Christmas, Easter, etc.) First rate taste, the simple recipes are the best. I just dotted with a bit more butter & sprinkled a bit of brown sugar on before baking, it adds some caramelizing (is that a word?)to the tops of some of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This is good, but my grandmother used a recipe that is so easy...get a lge can of yams, slice thin lengthwise and place close together on cookie sheet. Top with a generous sprinkling of drk brn sugar and sliced butter pats. put in 400F oven until juice is thick bubbles. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Since my oven is always full on the holidays, I make this in an electric skillet pan on the counter top (worth the $19.99 just to make this dish). Vent the lid. Delete the water, since it will create condensation that will thin the brown sugar sauce. I always try to lift the lid so that minimum condensation drops into the pan. My grandmother used to cook them this way with the lid off to make the sauce thicker, but it will take longer to cook this way.Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
We always make this kind of candy potato but never had a recipe to follow so it candy sauce comes out different. Now we make it this way and they are always excellent. I only use a 1/4 cup of water though. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
These were delicious despite the fact that they were extremely runny, they never carmalized.... I even tried broiling for a few minutes. I took this dish to a family gathering and people raved over the flavor, but like I said, extremely runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I love this recipe. Even those who say they don't like sweet potatoes like this recipe. I absolutely hate those marshmallow sweet potato dishes, so this is just simple and wonderful. I am considering not boiling the potatoes this year and just adding them to the baking pan raw with the sauce. Has anyone tried this method? I hope it works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
These are embarrasingly easy to make and really tasty- sinfully so. They turned out soft, sweet, and delicious. A fabulous, classic holiday recipe. It was my first time cooking sweet potatoes, and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Our family gobbled this up on Thanksgiving. Very easy and delicious. This recipe will be a holiday regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States