Classic Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
Fabulous!!!! This is almost exactly my mom's recipe for Thanksgiving sweet potatoes (or Christmas, Easter, etc.) First rate taste, the simple recipes are the best. I just dotted with a bit more butter & sprinkled a bit of brown sugar on before baking, it adds some caramelizing (is that a word?)to the tops of some of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Our family gobbled this up on Thanksgiving. Very easy and delicious. This recipe will be a holiday regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
These were delicious despite the fact that they were extremely runny, they never carmalized.... I even tried broiling for a few minutes. I took this dish to a family gathering and people raved over the flavor, but like I said, extremely runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This recipe was very easy and delicious. My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This was so yummy! I made it for Thanksgiving. I actually cooked the casserole in my crock pot instead of the oven, to save oven space, and it was perfect. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
The only problem I had with this is, as another review stated, they were quite runny. When the leftovers were heated on the stove they carmalized. The next time I make them I will do them on the stove, not in the oven. Everyone that ate them loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
These are embarrasingly easy to make and really tasty- sinfully so. They turned out soft, sweet, and delicious. A fabulous, classic holiday recipe. It was my first time cooking sweet potatoes, and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
These were excellent. Based on other reviews, I made some adjustments: used only 1/4 cup water and let the mixture boil for 10 minutes. Next time, I'm not going to add any water at all. I also added a tsp of cinnamon. Excellent. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
I kept these on the stove burner and out of the oven. I am glad I did, these were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
These are awesome. probably the best sweet potatoes i've ever made. Nothing fancy, just good,simple ingredients and excellent taste. Well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSEPHINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States