Classic Candied Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The best sweet potatoes I have ever had. I used fresh ones that were already peeled and cubed-available in the produce section. Super easy, and very fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Very good, but make sure to use the yellow-fleshed sweet potatoes. I used the whiteish ones, and while they tasted good, they looked unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This recipe was excellent...however I did add 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and cinnamon and 1/4 cup of water instead of 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Excellent-made them yesterday 11/26/09 for Thanksgiving. I'll never buy Mrs Paul's again!Just a few suggestions:cut back on the butter from a 1/2 cup to a 1/4 cup, cut down on the water from 1/4 cup to 4 tablespoons and if you don't want mushy sweet potatoes, steam for 15 mins instead. They'll be nice and tender after baking in the candy sauce for 45-60 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
My kids & boyfriend loved this. It is very sweet, but then I guess that is why the kids like it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RJCMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Saint Thomas, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Loved by all the picky eaters at my house. I used 2 large sweet potatoes and about half the sauce recipe recommended in the recipe. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethmorris1125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brecksville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I love the classic taste and simplicity of this recipe. However, I find that steaming the potatoes before baking results in potatoes that are way too mushy. I have made this two times and cut down the steam time, but haven't found a way to get the potatoes to the consistency that I like. This recipe is a keeper - worth trying again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
For the last 15-20 minutes I covered the top with mini marshmellows until brown. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coriandorlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
It's my new old standby. This is simple and consistent. I used to use my grandmas recipe which was similar, but this is much easier as hers was a stovetop method which involved turning the potato slices often. My son likes these with mini marshmallows sprinkled on top at the end and browned under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States