Classic CRISCO® Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
easy to work with. I only needed 4 tbps, but I guess it depends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Easy, and pretty good pie crust. I halved the recipe and went from there. For people who believe there is too little water; just be aware that since flour absorbs humidity, sometimes you need more water or less depending on the humidity of where you live/what your weather is like. That's why bread recipes sometimes need more or less flour added and that's why this recipe is going to need more or less liquid depending on where you live. I just kept adding tablespoons of water until I got a nice, smooth ball of crust. This is flaky, and flavorful if you use butter flavored Crisco like I did. It was great with the Rosemary and Tomato Tart I made it for. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I have been using this recipe for over 25 years and makes the BEST pie crust ever, as with everything you have to practice to make good pie crust. People who say is waste of good ingredients probably don't make it but once a year and should be happy with that frozen or package stuff (which isn't worth the time or money).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keystitchery

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My FIRST homemade piecrust! It was my first Thanksgiving as a married lady and I thought I'd make everything from scratch (figured it would make for good stories down the road, haha) Everyone was very impressed with the flavor (I used butter flavored Crisco sticks) and texture of my pie crust, the only catch was I had a deep dish pan (Didn't know that) so my crust was a little short for the dish. Next time I'll know that the deepdish double crust recipe is: DEEP DISH DOUBLE CRUST •2 2/3 cups Pillsbury BEST® All Purpose Flour •1 teaspoon salt •1 stick well-chilled Crisco® Baking Sticks All-Vegetable Shortening • OR 1 cup well-chilled Crisco® All-Vegetable Shortening •6 to 10 tablespoons ice cold water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I've been making piecrusts for a LONG time and this is the best one I've ever made. Makes a perfect deepdish 9" crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I used Country Crock light instead of shortening because I don't buy shortening. My crust turned out great. Also, to keep from being crumbly, I kneeded the crust with my hands and rolled out on flour. Hope these tips help you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This is wonderful! I've been using this Crisco recipe for many, many years & am not disappointed. It makes a flaky crust that is very easy. I keep my Crisco in the refrigerator (other shortenings do not come out as well for me.) so it is good & cold. The weather & brand of flour can determine the amount of ice water used. Start with 2 tble of the ice water, mix with a fork & add additional until it comes together. I also make it into a disk, wrap in Saran Wrap & chill for 20-30 minutes. I often use chilled butter-flavored Crisco for a buttery taste. If your crust is crumbly, you must add additonal ice water, a few drops at a time. Much better than the packaged stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This recipe is great! Like keystitchery I have used this recipe for over 35 years.If you are problems, try these tips. Use ice water to mix. I put ice cubes in my water, spoon it in to flour mixture. You can even refrigerate the pie dough before you roll it out. It is a soft dough and you can work it easily if you roll it out between two sheets of wax paper. I flour my wax paper place dough on to it. Flour top of the dough and top with wax paper and roll to right size. Pull top sheet off and lift from under wax paper and flip into pie pan, Pull wax paper off. Fill and crimp edges. This recipe pinches to reseal a gap easily. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I've used this recipe for many years. The dry crumbly dough problem is easily solved by adding additional water, a teaspoon or so at a time. The type of flour used, as well as the method used to measure the flour, play a role in how much water will be needed. Scooping the flour out of the bag and leveling is not the same as spooning the flour into the measuring cup, as scooping tends to pack the flour into the cup and you will wind up with more flour than you would if you spoon and level. Thus you will need more water. The version of the recipe that I have says 5 - 7 tablespoons of cold water which takes into consideration the varying differences that may arise with flour type/brand and measuring technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
People who know me, know that although I love baking, I suck at making pie crusts. My husband and I had purchased a large quantity of apples from the farmers market and spent a Saturday in the kitchen making pies. We started with a "no-fail" recipe I'd had for years and kept using...then promptly decided it was that recipe that caused me to think I couldn't make crusts! LOL We made one pie with it, then on the computer I went to look for another. And this is it! It comes together easy, rolls out wonderfully and is very flaky. We have given away about half the pies to family members and though they do give the pie as a whole a great rating, they rave about the crust. Look no further, this is an excellent pie crust recipe - even for beginners or those of us who "can't" make crusts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States