Classic CRISCO® Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
It was very hard to work with. It was dry and crumbly.It was a waste if time & ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Declo, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Impossible to work with. I agree that it is a waste of good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Had to add too much water. And it's nothing special as pie crusts go. The "Basic Flaky Pie Crust" is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
very good, but needs a sweeter, buttier taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTIBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I've used this recipe for many years. The dry crumbly dough problem is easily solved by adding additional water, a teaspoon or so at a time. The type of flour used, as well as the method used to measure the flour, play a role in how much water will be needed. Scooping the flour out of the bag and leveling is not the same as spooning the flour into the measuring cup, as scooping tends to pack the flour into the cup and you will wind up with more flour than you would if you spoon and level. Thus you will need more water. The version of the recipe that I have says 5 - 7 tablespoons of cold water which takes into consideration the varying differences that may arise with flour type/brand and measuring technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I have been using this recipe for over 25 years and makes the BEST pie crust ever, as with everything you have to practice to make good pie crust. People who say is waste of good ingredients probably don't make it but once a year and should be happy with that frozen or package stuff (which isn't worth the time or money).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keystitchery

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My FIRST homemade piecrust! It was my first Thanksgiving as a married lady and I thought I'd make everything from scratch (figured it would make for good stories down the road, haha) Everyone was very impressed with the flavor (I used butter flavored Crisco sticks) and texture of my pie crust, the only catch was I had a deep dish pan (Didn't know that) so my crust was a little short for the dish. Next time I'll know that the deepdish double crust recipe is: DEEP DISH DOUBLE CRUST •2 2/3 cups Pillsbury BEST® All Purpose Flour •1 teaspoon salt •1 stick well-chilled Crisco® Baking Sticks All-Vegetable Shortening • OR 1 cup well-chilled Crisco® All-Vegetable Shortening •6 to 10 tablespoons ice cold water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Easy, and pretty good pie crust. I halved the recipe and went from there. For people who believe there is too little water; just be aware that since flour absorbs humidity, sometimes you need more water or less depending on the humidity of where you live/what your weather is like. That's why bread recipes sometimes need more or less flour added and that's why this recipe is going to need more or less liquid depending on where you live. I just kept adding tablespoons of water until I got a nice, smooth ball of crust. This is flaky, and flavorful if you use butter flavored Crisco like I did. It was great with the Rosemary and Tomato Tart I made it for. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I've been making piecrusts for a LONG time and this is the best one I've ever made. Makes a perfect deepdish 9" crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I used Country Crock light instead of shortening because I don't buy shortening. My crust turned out great. Also, to keep from being crumbly, I kneeded the crust with my hands and rolled out on flour. Hope these tips help you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States