Classic CRISCO® Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
First turkey pot made and used this recipe...turned out perfect! Will use it all the time now! It was flakey and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is the recipe I use every year. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
A great classic. The only variation I make, is that I use half butter and half Crisco. PERFECTO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Schenone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Mount Shasta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I love this recipe. My family can tell the difference between this and frozen pie crust. Crisco wins hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I am not a pie baker, but this recipe rocks! My husband says I blew it out of the park ! Better than the already crusts! This is the only recipe I will use, Thank you for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is the pie crust my mother always used - and her mother too. The trick is to always use Crisco, and not some other brand and to use ice water. You will definitely need more water than the recipe calls for, but you know it's enough when you can form a ball. Roll it out on a floured counter or board and roll it over the rolling pin to place in the pin pan. It has an excellent flaky texture with minimal shrinkage. Sometimes I replace some of the Crisco with butter (not margarine) for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Lamb
Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This is a great recipe. If it doesn't work for you, you should make sure you add the correct ingredients and patience. Cooking is a Science.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeniBeenz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Used this recipe for years. Found out the trick was to use the least amount of water as possible. It takes awhile to figure out just the right amount of water for the flour that you use. I always need to knead my dough once or twice since I use very little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Crisco's pastry has been my "go to" recipe for years. So, I just looked this up as a reminder of the ingredients & amounts since I'm traveling & don't have my cookbook with me. That being said, this recipe on Allrecipes is missing some important details. It jumps from just having made the dough & dividing in -- to placing the rolled dough into the pie plate. It totally skips over how thick to roll the dough for pie crust. BTW: I never make this by hand. I use the food processor and "pulse" in the ingredients, in order, until I get a nice dough ball. Then roll out to 1/8-inch thick. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
was a little crumbly, but was great! just what i want in a pie crust. I will try another spoon of water next time. I also put the flour and salt in the freezer and used ice water, that tip was my granny's, so i'm sure there's a reason for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States