Classic CRISCO® Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Okay I too have used this recipe for years. And over the years I have noticed a change in the crisco.- I can no longer immediately use the dough. If you try to work this immediately after making - I find it is very soft and brittle and literally will fall apart. Solution - make the dough first, place it in the fridge while you prep your filling - or at least a half hour. Then it works very well. My other trick is to use milk instead of water which makes it even more flaky. I have never had an issue since making theses little changes and the crust is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen Wolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This has been my go-to pie crust recipe since I started baking as a teenager. A few tweeks my mom taught me and its perfect. I use ice water and add 2 tbsp vinegar to it. I start with 3 tbsp water, tossing it ever so lightly and add 2 more. The trick is to toss as lightly and as little as possible. These are not a waste of ingredients, you just need practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I've used this pie crust recipe for decades and everybody loves my pies. I put an ice cube in the water to make sure it's really cold. I'm going to follow the suggestion of Beadanurse and use the food processor on the "pulse" setting since I'm making many pies this season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathyvzw

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
It is the old no fail classic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaye Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I have made This Pie Crust with Crisco Shortening always so good I also have used Lard wow it makes a very good pie crust!!! I do have my own 7-Cup Pie Crust Recipe just before Thanksgiving I Double My Recipe and I Freeze All My Pie Crust and They Last Up To New Years Day and they are still good l put Parchment or wax paper I Double the Wax Paper in between the glass pie plates Then wrap real good with Plastic Wrap!!! I even put pie filling in a few of them and freeze Mmmgood Saves Time !!! auntbea09 (From Maryland)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auntbea09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Use butter flavored crisco! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Meadows

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Yes, it needed more water than the recipe states...add more slowly until desired dough texture is met. I thought it best to jump in with my hands at some point because a dough ball just wasn't coming together with "fork tossing" as stated in #1 above. It rolled out easily, tasted good and was perfect color and thickness for a 9" deep dish crust with no top. I filled it with freezer peach pie filling from this site and topped with a sprinkle of cinnamon. It was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Delicious pie crust! I definitely added more water than it called for though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
The texture was great but it was a little too salty. In the future I'll use 1/2 tsp. I scooped the flour into the measuring cup with a spoon and still needed to add more crisco FYI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
So quick and simple, not sure why I would ever buy pre made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States