Classic Butter Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
These are very good. I have been searching for a butter cookie texture that has a little more density to it. I was able to work with this one to achieve what I needed. Just a note regarding the cooling of the dough and becoming difficult to work with once it warms up. I keep a giant bag of peas in my freezer to use for bumps & bruises etc. When I work with a batter like this that needs to be cooled, just before I take it out of the fridge to roll out & shape I take the big bag of peas and rub the counter with it and then just let it rest for a couple minutes and just put them back in the freezer. It will really help to keep the dough workable. If rolling out on parchment paper you can use the peas again to keep the work surface cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I will never use another recipe for cut out cookies again!!! =) I've tried several different recipes over the last few years for Christmas cookies and this is by far thee BEST tasting cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Delicious! I made a maple glaze with chopped pecans...so good. My daughter, who does not like sweet potato, loved this. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessilala
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
LOVED these cookies!!! so simple and stayed not to soft but not rock hard!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessilala

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
We made a triple batch for a holiday Share Our Strength bake sale. They were easy to work with and turned out beautiful. We needed something simple and quick because we only had 6 hours to get the items ready for sale. Each batch was a different color since we didn't have the time to frost that number of cookies. Simply add a few drops of food coloring to the batch while mixing until you reach desired shade. We used yellow, red and green. Yellow for stars, red for ornaments and green for trees. Sprinkled them with matching colored sugar for each one as soon as they came out of the oven. These were the ONLY item to completely sell out. Thanks Heidi for helping feed hungry kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
These cookies are delicious. I have made them several times. I also substituted vanilla for almond. If the dough seems sticky and sticks to your roller, add more flour and it should do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Exactly as the title says - classic butter cookies. If that is what you are looking for, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
not great. just baked some, intended to surprise my husband on special day but now i had to just crush the cookies for cheesecake base (along with butter, sugar, oats and cinnamon to make up for the lack of flavor). very disappointed. maybe it's meant to go with icing or jams. w/o additional flavor or sweetness these are just flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
These were so dry, we couldn't even make cookies with them. On the plus side, the dough was really good raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: La Vista, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Easy, Fast, makes a Big Batch and Very Delicious!!! I made some for Valentine's day and the dough held the heart shape which looked fabulous! GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States