Classic Butter Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
My brother wanted me to make raspberry tarts for him (lindzer tarts), and he specifically told me not to make anything too sweet. This recipe was perfect for the cookies. They came out great, and he wants me to make more for the upcoming Easter Holiday. Thank you for a great recipe Heidi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This recipe was so good for using cookie cutters and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wantagh, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
If you like a very mild cookie, then this is the one for you. They weren't sweet enough for me. I used vanilla extract instead of almond (and used 3/4 tsp) and even added 1/2 cup of graham cracker crumbs on a whim. If I made these again I think I was add at least 1/2 cup of brown sugar to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
To me these cookies tasted pretty plain. An overall easy recipe to make, but I thought that they were missing something. Next time I might substitute lemon extract for the vanilla to give them more flavor. I also double the recipe to expedite my baking time. I wouldn't recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
These cookies are great. They're not too sweet, and cut out fairly well. I had to chill my dough several times while cutting out shapes though. Guess I'll just have to be a little quicker in the future. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
My sister and i made these just yesterday for valentines day and they came out great! They are very easy to make. They do not spread so u can put a lot on one pan.the dough is easy to work with! They have a simple taste, like a butter cookie. They are very good. Absolutely perfect with the cookie icing on this site. The cookie was not super sweet, but with the icing (which hardens to stackability) it gives it the perfect level of sweetness. Thanks for this recipe!! Very yummy! I like them even w/o icing. You could have them plain w/ tea or something. the cookie comes out white, pretty for decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrwdMthr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
We always enjoy butter cookies after dinner with a good cup of coffee. These cookies were the best. I used just a bit more sugar, afterall, they are butter cookies not sugar, and used vanilla instead of almond extract and instead of chilling the dough, I made little balls and smashed them with the bottom of a sugared cup, they baked well, and my family loves them! Thank you for the very simple and GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
These were great. I was able to cut out immediately without refrigerating and that means a lot to me. As usual, I rolled out dough between two sheets of wax paper and then cut out the cookies. This saves adding lots of flour during the rolling and makes things a lot easier all around. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
These were simple to make and delicious to eat. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I didn't think these tasted very good at all. My husband said he liked them though. I thought they tasted like flour. I used real butter too. I don't know maybe they need more sugar or something. When the dough is chilled it's pretty hard but it gets sticky real fast when you are working with it. It also doesn't make a whole lot of cookies. I'm not going to use this recipe again, and in the morning I'm going to go to the store to get more butter to make different cookies since I don't want to serve these to my family for Christmas Eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States