Classic Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
Delicious! I made these this morning as my toddler 'helped'. They were that quick and easy. I followed the recipe this first time exactly, but plan to start tweaking it a bit - maybe some grated carrots, maybe some oatbran, dried cranberries instead of raisins. Thank you for this fantastic recipe! update 12-8-07: I felt compelled to come back to my review because I STILL consider this my best muffin recie, making it all the time. Some notes: I use powdered buttermilk, and use a mix of wheat and oat bran. Just now now I used two ripe bananas and toasted chopped walnuts and pecans, instead of raisins. I used Splenda brown sugar blend. This might be my new favorite version (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
I made two batches, one with raisins and one with dates. They were both a hit with my family. I made some in my mini muffin tins, but I put too much batter in the tins and they looked funny but were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
Excellent bran muffins- texture, flavor, moisture, sweetness- everything was perfect. I substituted all the oil with applesauce, otherwise all else was the same. I came out with 8 good-sized muffins with this recipe. Next time I might use mashed bananas and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
They are good. I didn't have buttermilk on hand, so I used 2% and it turned out fine. I also used whole-wheat flour and all was well. The kids love the muffins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
FINALLY...my bran muffin recipe search has ended. After many attempts with very bland results I have found the perfect bran muffin recipe. This muffin has the best flavor of any I have tried. Sweeter than most, but not too sweet. Very delicious. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
Perfect, and easy! Most pleasing muffins I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Excellent! A great basic recipe you can easily add your favorite bran muffin ingredients to. Raisins, nuts, dried fruit - they're all good. It's a nice small batch too. I make them once a week for workday breakfasts. I never tire of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kemp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Balgonie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
These are really good, I used Lighter Bake instead of oil the first time and they are all right, but last time I used to oil and they were real good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
This recipe must be foolproof! I was going out of town for the weekend and had company following me home. Not wanting to make the 6 week bran muffins because of the volume I settled on this. I also made the following changes based on what I had on hand. Used oat bran flakes instead of the wheat bran, used lite orange mango applesauce instead of the oil, used 2 eggbeaters instead of 1 egg, used 1/4 cup chopped walnuts instead of the raisens and added 1/2t. oc cinnamon. I made the batter on Thurs. morning and cooked muffins Mon. and Wed mornings. They were so moist and flavorful. I cooked them until a toothpick came out clean which was about 25 minutes. I just read the recipe and realized I cooked them at 350 and not 375. This will be my standard bran muffin recipe from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I substituted applesauce for the oil and used fresh raspberries instead of raisins. These were delicious. I've had one for breakfast every day this week. Although the recipe claims to make 12 muffins, they must be _really_ small b/c I got only 6 medium sized ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,022) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States