Classic Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I’ve made this recipe every week since finding it. This is a great recipe on its own, but I’ve found it a wonderful launch into my own creativity in healthful cooking. I’ve seldom used oil with this recipe. I substitute applesauce, pumpkin, cooked and pureed carrots, squash, and banana, in place of oil. I often add pumpkin pie spice with the squash, carrots, or pumpkin, or cinnamon with the applesauce. I always add flax seed, and use half whole wheat flour and half unbleached. I seldom use all the sugar. I’ve substituted molasses or honey for the sugar, or just cut it in half. I make this recipe so frequently; I now stock fat free buttermilk. I don’t like raisins, and find myself adding shredded carrots, dates, pecans, walnuts, carob chips, and coconut, whatever I have on hand. Thank you Janet, my family truly enjoys this versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1722 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Absolutely wonderful! I did make a few adjustments like other posters did: 1/3 c apple sauce for the oil, 2 egg whites for the 1 egg, 1 tbsp lemon juice with skim milk for the buttermilk, and cinnamon. I used post raisin bran for the bran (because it gets too soggy in milk; I was going to throw the box away) and picked out the raisins. These are very good and a great way to get a healthy dose of fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
511 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I substitued 1 cup fat free plain yogurt for the buttermilk; 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce for the oil; 1/4 cup egg substitue for the egg; a mixture of 5 TBSP white Splenda and 2 1/2 TBSP Brown Splenda for the brown sugar; 1 cup of whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour; increased the vanilla to 1 tsp; used dried cranberries for the raisins and added 4 TBSP BeneFiber (you could use any of the fiber supplements). This lowered the calories to 93 and increased the fiber to 6 grams. My family loves them! (I tried using frozen blackberries but it made the muffins almost too moist. My kids liked them though.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
497 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2001
Mmmm - these are good! I made 6 regular sized muffins and 12 mini muffins from a single batch of this batter, and was delighted to find that they tasted just like the bran muffins my mother used to make. Eat them warm with a slice of cheddar cheese - yummy! NOTE: The second time I made these, I did some substitutions: I replaced the oil with 1/3 cup applesauce; I replaced half the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour; and I replaced the buttermilk with 1 tablespoon of lemon juice + enough nonfat milk to make one cup. They were still just as yummy as the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
These were delicious. I changed the recipe to make them a little healthier, like others suggested. I substituted the oil with 1/3 applesauce. I also couldn't find wheat bran, so I first made a batch with a store brand of Fiber One (the ones that look like twigs). I made another batch with All Bran bran buds. Both came out delicious. I had better results just spraying the muffin tins with Pam. When I used paper liners the first time, they didn't come off easily because of the low fat content. I've added dried cranberries, chopped walnuts, chopped dates and about 1 tsp cinnamon. I gave some away to friends and they said they really enjoyed them (their kids too!) I'll make these frequently since they're a great snack...lots of fiber too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLR71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I am pastry chef and I served this for a breakfast party this morning. These muffins are excellent! They were moist and very tasty! They weren't "typical" bran muffins because they were moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
These were great bran muffins! I decided to experiment, so I made one regular batch and then one lowfat with egg whites for the egg, applesauce for the oil, and reduced fat buttermilk. I gave both versions to my husband and he picked the lowfat one as being the tastier version! I will be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Yummy! I used 1/2 cup dried cherries but think it would have been even better with 3/4 cup. Can't wait to try these with dried strawberries, blueberries or cranberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Emily Lange
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I substituted 1/3 cup applesauce for oil and made my own buttermilk using 1 tablespoon vinegar and enough milk to make 1 cup. I made 6 large muffins instead of 12 small ones and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Lange

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Emporia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I brushed honey on top of the muffins right when they came out of the oven. They were awesome. People who usually don't eat bran muffins loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,022) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States