Classic Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I made the following substitutions and changes: 1.5 C oat flakes instead of wheat bran .5 cup brown sugar olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I suppose I don't like wheat bran pastry because I've tried so many times to do something good with wheat bran and every time it's a disaster. This time I added dates, granola, substituted applesause for butter, added 3 tbsp of white sugar instead of brown sugar. Actually I added one more cup of buttermilk, because the batter was so crumbly and it was impossible to mix. After 2 cups of buttermilk the batter was ok. Unfortunately the taste leaves much to be desired. Hope the muffins will be better tomorrow. But I won't do them again anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I used Raisin Bran cereal, apple sauce for oil, dried blueberries for raisins and added cinnamon. It was pretty tasty. I will decrease the brown sugar because of the added sweetness from the apple sauce next time and add some chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masa Bamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
These are fantastic! I make these atleast once a week for the children in the daycare i work at. 37 little mouths all agree this recipe is a keeper! Sometimes i'll add rehydrated raisins or cranberries into the mixture, and when in season, i add fresh blueberries. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenkaboom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I have been using this recipe for several years now and it's the only bran muffin recipe I'll ever use. I love the fact that they contain so much bran yet remain beautifully moist and soft. For the fruit I use whatever I have in the pantry which could be anywhere from mixed fruit to dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenys V. Aitken

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Love this recipe...I didn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I didn't have wheat bran so I substituted ground flaxseed. The batter seemed pretty thick so I added a couple more tablespoons of buttermilk. They turned out delicious! My kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Mine came out: - Really dry - Did not raise well. I ended up with 12 small muffins - Raisins were not detectable at all - There were no taste or mositure that you'd expect from a muffin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I usually add orange zest and a bit of cinnamon for extra flavours. Also, I substitute all purpose flour with whole wheat flour. Still taste great, but even healthier. Sometimes, I substitute half of the vegetable oil with unsweetened apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I LOVE these bran muffins! The only thing I changed was substitute 1/3 cup of cooked navy beans for the oil. They were great and my kids are devouring them. Yay for a bit more fibre in our diet! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,006) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States